Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by SugarDuJour
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This frosting has great consistency, and easy to spread, but a little too chocolatey for me. Very dense and rich. Overall, a good chocolate frosting though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDuJour

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
this is a very Good Frosting, but i used butter instead of margarine and added a little creamcheese that i needed to use up and it was wonderful. Very creamy! Spreads nicely....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I used only 2 tbsp butter and 2 tbsp peanut butter melted them together. I only used 2 1/2 - 3 cups of the sugar. it came out sooo good a nice mix of Chocolate and peanut butter favor and an awesome texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Yummy Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Like a few others, I subbed butter for the margarine and didn't bother to melt it. I used it softened and it was fine. Also used whipping cream in place of the milk because I had it and also figured it would hold up a bit better for piping purposes and I was right. Excellent taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I tried to use this on my cake but I used almost 5 or more powdered sugar and it was still runny like water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Turned out great and was super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AbbottAddilee'sMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I don't know why this recipe only has 4-1/2 stars. I have used it for years and it's the only chocolate frosting recipe I ever trust. It is extremely versatile - can be piped, or thinned and drizzled and everything else in between. I don't know how many times I've made it - seems like zillions and it always comes out perfect. Have made it with regular cocoa, as well as Hershey's special dark cocoa. It is a wonderful frosting and/or filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I would reccomend this recipe if you don't have any evaporated milk--that's what happened to me! First thing, make sure that you sift all of the powdered sugar through a little strainer, it makes it finer and not gritty.. I used butter, not margarine, and I actually doubled the amount of butter to 1/2 cup and it worked out well, it wasn't melted either, it was warm.. Like a lot of reviews said, I added less powdered sugar and more cocoa and it turned out great! Really good frosting :) I am using it for my amazing chocolate cake. Definitelyl reccomend trying this! Check many reviews to see what people suggest adding! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sage Pintler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I don't see what's the big whoop. I don't think it's that great. It is overwhelmingly sweet, and not thick enough either, I had to add more cocoa and powder. Plus I dislike the way the butter is melted, it should have just been softened this would help with the consistency of the the thin frosting. The good news was my cake was bitter, so if your cake is not too sweet then this frosting will taste okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 504) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States