Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
for me this tastes too rich. my daughter says it takes like fudge brawny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
with a little tweaking this is an amazing frosting! i used real butter, a cup of cocoa and 1/4 tsp salt. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by josie-d

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Very good fudgy frosting. Based on suggestions from other reviewers I used 3 cups powdered sugar and a bit extra cocoa powder and a dash of salt. Put in extra milk until it was the proper consistency for spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made this on a whim one night and it turned out great. Super simple and tasted just like the frosting that you'd buy from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrssabre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
These were amazing lol I was surprised but the only thing i did different was use a chocolate glaze and not the frosting! Would make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pahrump, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I'm so glad i cut down on the sugar. Even without the full written amount, it was really sweet. However, it was an incredible frosting to go with the cake I made, and very easy to spread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Not great. I tried this with all the suggested modifications and still had to punt. The mixture seized after I added the milk, so I had to re-warm it over a double-boiler before I could blend in the sugar. Then, after sitting covered at room temperature for about an hour, it was too stiff to pipe through a large star tip. Fortunately, I was being lazy and had used a zip-top bag instead of a pastry bag, so I was able to add milk and knead it until it was loose enough to pipe. But then it was too much like ganache to hold any shape and just sort of oozed all over the tops of the cupcakes. It does taste good, but I won't bother with it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I used half the powdered sugar and double the coco and this frosting was a perfect brownie topper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drama4Ellen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I only used maybe 3 TBS of milk and I ran out of icing sugar after only using around 2-1/2 cups... But it turned out delicious! I didn't have that too-sweet taste going on that some people have mentioned. I didn't melt the margarine, and I beat the icing for a bit, then let it sit for 30+ minutes and beat it again. I used it on Chewy Peanut Butter Brownies and it was absolutely delicious. Thanks for sharing, Tia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
It was tastey. I use butter instead, and a LOT of extra sugar because it was too liquidy. I added as much as I needed until It was a lot thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy2498

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States