Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
DELICIOUS! So very good. I used this chocolate frosting to frost a chocolate cake that I found on this website as well. The cake was fantastic, but the frosting really gave it the creamy, chocolatey texture and taste that I was looking for. It's very easy to make and the end results are teriffic. Definitely one of my favorite frosting recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalialo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
this was good with a couple of changes...doubled the cocoa and used 2cups icing sugar instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jill and Scott
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Great frosting recipe! I did what other suggestions and increased the cocoa powder and decreased the powdered sugar. Although it was a lot more runny than I had hoped, it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill and Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
None of my 5 family members were thrilled with this. Even after the suggested adjustments (less sugar, more cocoa) it was sickeningly sweet. It tasted like putting hershey's syrup on top of cake. It was easy, though, which is why it does get 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Hall

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Great taste. I also reduced the amount of sugar and increased the amount of cocoa. I didn't sift my dry ingredients beforehand though, so I ended up with bits of sugar/cocoa that wouldn't mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSEIRAFI
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This is my first time making chocolate icing or frosting. It turned out very good. I added just a little more milk because it seemed a little thick. I really enjoyed this. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
PERFECT FROSTING I changed it up a bit, using 2 cups cofect. sugar and 1 tbsp. butter add to the marg. I found by melting the marg and adding it to the cocoa then mixing it on high with an electric mixer it gave it the perfect texture and using 2 cup of cofect. sugar makes it not as sweet but the chocolate taste really comes through. EXCELLENT RECIPE I WILL USE THIS ONE FROM NOW ON THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Awesome! I did add an extra 1/4 cup of cocoa, and 1/2 cup less of powdered sugar! Smooth, rich, creamy, easy to work with! I was skeptical melted margarine? I'm a believer now! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Best frosting ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Delicious! I also modified it, as many users suggested. I used butter, although I hear that you could add more to make it 1/2 a cup, depending on your preferences. I used slightly more than 2/3 cup of cocoa and slightly less than 2 cups of confectioners sugar and it was just mildly sweet. I feel that 2.5 cups is too sweet. I also added a dash of cinnamon just for kicks. Someone also suggested adding a tablespoon of your favorite prepared coffee to give it a mocha taste. Loved the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 502) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States