Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Yum. I used three cups of 10x sugar and it worked well. It took a bit to stir and mash the lumps out of the butter and cocoa powder but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieeMonster13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marion, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This was not a frosting but an icing. It went straight through my cake. However, my father, who received the cake, love the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkhaley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is my new go-to chocolate frosting recipe! I'm only giving 4 stars because, like others, I used more cocoa powder and less powdered sugar. It ended up perfectly smooth & creamy - I could have eaten a whole bowl without any cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly; made in the mixer. It was FABULOUS. Looked professional, tasted incredibly chocolaty and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Just average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This was ok...just very sweet. Next time I will take the advice of other reviewers and add more cocoa and less powdered sugar. I don't think the butter mixes as well when it is fully melted - I think softened would be better. I will also add a little salt. I did use butter because I don't care for margarine. I found that 3 1/4 cups powdered sugar made for a spreadable consistency. I let this mix on med-hi speed in the Kitchen Aide for about 5 minutes to make a nice, fluffy frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
It was a great recipe. It's very, very rich chocolate frosting. I used it on cupcakes and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
YES! De-lish! I put too much milk as others did but all you have to do is let is set in the refrigerator to thicken (you need at least 30 minutes to do so), or use as a glaze. I frosted 22 cupcakes w/half of the recipe & microwaved the rest to use as a fudge sauce over brownies & raspberries the next day, tasted sublime :)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This was a pretty good recipe although i found that i had to add almost another 1/4 cup of milk to get it to a spreadable consitency. Also followed other people's advice and used less sugar and more cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Very good! (Even with the help of a 2 1/2 year old!) I did add a couple tablespoons extra milk to get the consistency I wanted. This will be going on top of a chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hannibal, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States