Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
PERFECT FROSTING I changed it up a bit, using 2 cups cofect. sugar and 1 tbsp. butter add to the marg. I found by melting the marg and adding it to the cocoa then mixing it on high with an electric mixer it gave it the perfect texture and using 2 cup of cofect. sugar makes it not as sweet but the chocolate taste really comes through. EXCELLENT RECIPE I WILL USE THIS ONE FROM NOW ON THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Awesome! I did add an extra 1/4 cup of cocoa, and 1/2 cup less of powdered sugar! Smooth, rich, creamy, easy to work with! I was skeptical melted margarine? I'm a believer now! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Best frosting ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Delicious! I also modified it, as many users suggested. I used butter, although I hear that you could add more to make it 1/2 a cup, depending on your preferences. I used slightly more than 2/3 cup of cocoa and slightly less than 2 cups of confectioners sugar and it was just mildly sweet. I feel that 2.5 cups is too sweet. I also added a dash of cinnamon just for kicks. Someone also suggested adding a tablespoon of your favorite prepared coffee to give it a mocha taste. Loved the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Very good! I halved the recipe to lightly frost an 8x8 pan of "Quick and Easy Brownies" from this site. I was able to use a whisk for the first part, and a spatula to finish it up. Great flavor, color & texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C IS FOR COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Very good recipe. I had no margarine, so used butter. I will add more cocoa next time to give it an even more chocolatey flavor and DEFINITELY scrape the bottom to make sure you don't have any butter/cocoa residue left or it will appear as lumps later! Beautiful texture and appearance - definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bel920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I only used 3 cups of sugar. Nothing about this frosting stood out to me. My roommates and I agreed it was overpoweringly sweet and had a funny aftertaste. If I were to make it again I would add more milk. However, I do not plan on making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Great frosting! Lovely rich chocolate flavor. The only changes I made were to use real butter instead of margarine and I added an extra tablespoon of milk. Turned out nice and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graceful96

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsValentine
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Delicious and so easy! I cut the recipe in half and used about 1/3 cup less sugar than called for and it was the perfect balance of sweet and chocolate. I used on "Butter Cake" recipe on this site made into cupcakes. My husband's favorite is yellow cake with chocolate icing and he ate 4 cupcakes before I could finish frosting them. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsValentine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was so good, I used it on a cake from this site and this frostiing was fabulous...This is a keeper I added a little more milk and just 3 cups of confectioners sugar.Thank you Tianne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 121-130 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States