Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Excellent, bakery type icing. Used on cup cakes. Will use this as a go to frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Nice frosting! I used butter instead of margarine, added more cocoa and used half and half instead of milk. I had to play with this a bit, but overall pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Awesome.....I followed others and added a little more cocoa powder and less powdered sugar...I used room temp butter instead of margarine....yummy...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Delicious, smooth, true chocolate taste. I did reduce the sugar to 3 cups to keep it more chocolately. This is now my "go-to" frosting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This frosting is soooo good! It is a thicker more fudge like frosting. I did add more cocoa and less sugar like others suggested. I also used some dark cocoa in place of the regular cocoa. I used this on the Dark Chocolate Cake II recipe (on this sight). It was a smash hit. The only suggestion I would make is if you are making a layered round cake double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
not sure what went wrong but mine was not thick enough to use as frosting. tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Good with revisions... Made cupcakes last night and saw this recipe for frosting. Only read a couple reviews, but most said the chocolate flavor didn't shine through. I kept the recipe the same except added one square of unsweetened chocolate which I melted along with the margarine. Delicious! Exactly what I was looking for. (after the addition of more chocolate). ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilmspunky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dugway, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Easy recipe. All the ingedients are ones you will have on hand. Sets up quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Very good and very sweet! I used real unsalted butter and added a tad more cocoa and a tad less sugar. Next time I think I will increase the cocoa and decrease the sugar even more! This frosting has that great homeade chocolate frosting taste (so much better than canned frosting)! It was the perfect amount for 12 cupcakes (or half of a cake recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I am not a fan of margarine. I like the more natural organic butter. So I substituted them. When I added the milk the butter went back to its more hard form. So I heated it very slightly on the stove until it was melted again and then added the sugar. It worked great...just in case you favor butter like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Kay Hagen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States