Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
One of the best frostings I have piped with. This came out the perfect consistency with the given amounts of each ingredient. Went perfectly on my brownie batter cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This Frosting Recipe is good.... but I will have to agree with the other reviewers that I did tend to taste a little powder sugary..... But still very creamy and good.... next time I will try adding more butter and cocoa.... Will definately use again though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I had to use shortening because I had run out of butter, and this frosting turned out awesome!! No one mentioned the cupcakes, only how good the frosting was. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Makes a nice thick frosting very chocolately tasting. Best part of the cupcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Tastes okay, looks funny, with specks of darker brown in it, like something didn't blend in well. Maybe I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I'll confess, I changed alot of this recipe. But, in my defense, I cannot have dairy or sugar, and I didn't want my gluten-free cupcakes to be naked. I used butter, coconut milk, carob powder with a splash of cocoa powder, and 1 2/3 cup coconut sugar and 1/3 cup powdered maple syrup. It had moments where it was really difficult to blend fully, but I let it sit for a bit, then went back to finish beating it. It turned out for me a cross between a thick glaze and a soft frosting. (if I could use powdered sugar, it would've been perfect!) As it was, the flavor is AMAZING!!! So delicious! Thank you for this base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by That Girl3

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I added more cocoa and vanilla and this was sooo yummy! It was used to frost a chocolate chip banana cake and will def. be used again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I used this recipe as a basic formula for my own dark chocolate cupcake frosting. I used 1 stick of butter, 1 cup plus 4 tbsp. dark cocoa, 1/2 cup heavy cream and only 1 1/2 cup confectioner sugar since I wanted the frosting to be more chocolatey than sweet. I whipped this all in my kitchenaid for quite some time, then I piped this onto Simple White Cake (from here) cupcakes and it was TO DIE FOR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moluv

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I only used 2 1/2 cups of confectioners' sugar and the frosting was plenty thick. I used it to frost fabulous fudge cake (also from allrecipes.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Way better than the store bought stuff! It's so yummy you don't even need the cake. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Forest, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States