Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I gave it four stars because it's easy, but there were some problems. Next time I make this, I'll definitely have to add more cocoa, as this had a much more sweet-sugar taste than it did a chocolate one. I'll definitely use butter next time instead of margarine. Margarine just doesn't taste right, to me. And, I'll sift the cocoa powder into the sugar, instead of beating it into the margarine/butter. It took forever to mix with the margarine, which made the whole recipe take much longer than the 15 minutes stated; and I couldn't get it smooth until I started adding the sugar anyway. One thing I did by accident that I found I liked, though, is that I added too much vanilla. I was measuring over the mixing bowl, and spilled probably about an extra teaspoon of vanilla into it. I think that may have made me like it more than I would have if I'd used the measurement in the recipe. This isn't a horrible icing recipe, over all; but it does need some tweaking to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I had a major mix up. I used 1 1/3 cup of cocoa and then used three cups of powdered sugar but it was some of the best frosting I'd ever had even if it did keep sticking to everything. By the time I was done I was literally covered in frosting. Frosted 15 large cupcakes easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I made this just because I'd never made icing before and realized I had never seen my wife make icing on any of the many cakes she has made in our 33 years together. I only made a half recipe since I had no intention of making a cake (yet). I estimated the milk (eye-balled it) using about two thirds of a quarter cup measure. I followed the recipe exactly except for splitting the recipe in half, but it seemed to be missing something. I melted a Baker's bittersweet chocolate cube in the microwave and mixed it into the frosting and it was phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
The recipe is too sweet as-is. I tried it with 2/3 cup cocoa and only 2 cups of confectioner's sugar, but the result was still sweeter than I prefer. Also the '12' servings were not enough to fill and frost a 2-layer 8' cake. I would need to double the amount to have enough for filling and frosting. I am not sure if this due to the change in the amounts or not, but the final result also left a slight chocolate after-taste that lingers for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Good but I use butter, not margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I followed others' suggestions and used 2/3 c. cocoa and 3 c. powdered sugar. I tripled the recipe for a layer cake. Great rich, dark, color and creamy consistency, even hours afterward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I decided to make this frosting for my chocolate cupcakes based on what I had available in my pantry and I ended up not using it. I followed the recipe exactly and I'm not sure what happened but it was not thick like frosting. It was more like the consistency of cake batter and the taste was bland. I will not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalise Gamble

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This is a good fudgy frosting. I used it on a white double layer cake and there was just enough frosting for the whole cake without having to make more to fill in places. I used butter, I don't buy margarine, and I used 1/2 cup only because I glanced at the recipe without my glasses on and and that's what I thought I read. I also upped the cocoa powder to 2/3 Cup because of what I had read. Another thing that I changed was that I used heavy cream instead of milk. I wanted to use up what I had and turns out it worked great! I always sift my powdered sugar, and I also sifted my cocoa powder before I added them. Takes any and all clumps out ahead of time so you don't have one pop up. I will definitely save this recipe for further use. There's always something else that needs chocolate frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Easy and delicious! I will definitely use this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Balkowitsch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
IT IS SO GOOD!!! I USED IT ON CUPCAKES AND THE ICING EVEN EVENED ITSELF OUT AND HARDENED. PERFECTO AND ATE ALL OF THEM BEFORE I COULD EVEN CONSIDER SHARING WITH KY FRIENDS. (MWA HA HA)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 493) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States