Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ro18
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
This is an amazing and easy recipe. I had to make black colour frosting for a Mickey Mouse cake for my son's 1st birthday. I did everything to make black frosting without black colour (online people suggested mix all sorts of colour to make black but nothing worked). Then I decided to use a dark and thick chocolate frosting and this did wonders!!! The reviews were correct use a less sugar and just keep beating it for a little longer. The more I beat the frosting and kept adding blue and green liquid colour to get black colour the shinier and soft it became. The frosting tasted heavenly. Going to save this for all my chocolate cake adventures ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Excellent and creamy... used cream instead of milk...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Britt Machowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This recipe was just what I was looking for. It was a little too sweet for my taste, but I'll have to cut back a little on my next try. The first chocolate frosting I've made...all natural is AWESOME! I used butter instead of margarine. Thanks for sharing. My son helps me. He made the cake and helped on the frosting. I even let him spread. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Like many reviews have said, its too sweet and not enough chocolate. its the type of frosting that would only taste gold on something like graham crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This is by far the absolute best chocolate frosting I've ever made or tasted!!!!!! It's the perfect consistency and taste! For personal dietary reasons, I don't use dairy milk I use coconut milk, and it works great. Thanks for the recipient Tia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Great frosting, what else could be said? Easy to put together, creamy texture and great chocolate flavor. I'll be bookmarking this one, thanks! Oh, and I didn't read a single review prior to making this, which is unusual for me. I did nothing "extra" here, no changing amounts, no pre-sifting any of the ingredients, just followed the directions as written for a smooth, yummy frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Braman-Duarte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumford, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I gave it four stars because it's easy, but there were some problems. Next time I make this, I'll definitely have to add more cocoa, as this had a much more sweet-sugar taste than it did a chocolate one. I'll definitely use butter next time instead of margarine. Margarine just doesn't taste right, to me. And, I'll sift the cocoa powder into the sugar, instead of beating it into the margarine/butter. It took forever to mix with the margarine, which made the whole recipe take much longer than the 15 minutes stated; and I couldn't get it smooth until I started adding the sugar anyway. One thing I did by accident that I found I liked, though, is that I added too much vanilla. I was measuring over the mixing bowl, and spilled probably about an extra teaspoon of vanilla into it. I think that may have made me like it more than I would have if I'd used the measurement in the recipe. This isn't a horrible icing recipe, over all; but it does need some tweaking to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I had a major mix up. I used 1 1/3 cup of cocoa and then used three cups of powdered sugar but it was some of the best frosting I'd ever had even if it did keep sticking to everything. By the time I was done I was literally covered in frosting. Frosted 15 large cupcakes easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I made this just because I'd never made icing before and realized I had never seen my wife make icing on any of the many cakes she has made in our 33 years together. I only made a half recipe since I had no intention of making a cake (yet). I estimated the milk (eye-balled it) using about two thirds of a quarter cup measure. I followed the recipe exactly except for splitting the recipe in half, but it seemed to be missing something. I melted a Baker's bittersweet chocolate cube in the microwave and mixed it into the frosting and it was phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
The recipe is too sweet as-is. I tried it with 2/3 cup cocoa and only 2 cups of confectioner's sugar, but the result was still sweeter than I prefer. Also the '12' servings were not enough to fill and frost a 2-layer 8' cake. I would need to double the amount to have enough for filling and frosting. I am not sure if this due to the change in the amounts or not, but the final result also left a slight chocolate after-taste that lingers for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States