Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Turned out great and was super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AbbottsMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I don't know why this recipe only has 4-1/2 stars. I have used it for years and it's the only chocolate frosting recipe I ever trust. It is extremely versatile - can be piped, or thinned and drizzled and everything else in between. I don't know how many times I've made it - seems like zillions and it always comes out perfect. Have made it with regular cocoa, as well as Hershey's special dark cocoa. It is a wonderful frosting and/or filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I would reccomend this recipe if you don't have any evaporated milk--that's what happened to me! First thing, make sure that you sift all of the powdered sugar through a little strainer, it makes it finer and not gritty.. I used butter, not margarine, and I actually doubled the amount of butter to 1/2 cup and it worked out well, it wasn't melted either, it was warm.. Like a lot of reviews said, I added less powdered sugar and more cocoa and it turned out great! Really good frosting :) I am using it for my amazing chocolate cake. Definitelyl reccomend trying this! Check many reviews to see what people suggest adding! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I don't see what's the big whoop. I don't think it's that great. It is overwhelmingly sweet, and not thick enough either, I had to add more cocoa and powder. Plus I dislike the way the butter is melted, it should have just been softened this would help with the consistency of the the thin frosting. The good news was my cake was bitter, so if your cake is not too sweet then this frosting will taste okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This frosting was really good! It came out creamy and easy to spread, but I used significantly less sugar than called for (just under 2 cups), and like many people suggested, added a bit more cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Really good frosting. I was a bit hesistant at first because I never made a buttercream type frosting with melted butter...and yes, I used butter not margarine. I took the advise of other reviewers and added a couple extra tablespoons of the coco and cut back to about 2 1/2 cups of confectioner's sugar. Used this on the Cream Filled Cupcakes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Would give these 5 stars but had to follow others' advice and use way less powdered sugar (2 1/2 cups). Also added more cocoa as others suggested. Hand made with a wisk and absolutely delicious! Perfect topper for Peanut Butter Brownies...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KisstheCookKT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Super easy--was looking for something to go on a 8x8 vanilla cake at the last minute. Cut this in half, added a dash of salt and used butter. Good flavor, good texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Great Recipe! I used it on chocolate cupcakes by Joy Of Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco & Isa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Great Recipe-doubled awesome as well. Topped my famouse Banana Choc Chip cake for a bunch of hungry youth and it was a hit!! I used less icing sugar only cause i ran out-i prefer it this way. Add an extra dash of vanilla extract or almond extract it helps play down the sweetness of the icing sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juanita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States