Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I used half the powdered sugar and double the coco and this frosting was a perfect brownie topper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drama4Ellen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I only used maybe 3 TBS of milk and I ran out of icing sugar after only using around 2-1/2 cups... But it turned out delicious! I didn't have that too-sweet taste going on that some people have mentioned. I didn't melt the margarine, and I beat the icing for a bit, then let it sit for 30+ minutes and beat it again. I used it on Chewy Peanut Butter Brownies and it was absolutely delicious. Thanks for sharing, Tia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
It was tastey. I use butter instead, and a LOT of extra sugar because it was too liquidy. I added as much as I needed until It was a lot thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy2498

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Great taste. I used melted butter instead of margarine, but accidentally added the powdered sugar before the milk. It turned into a crumbly mess. I added the milk afterward, but there were still crumbs in the frosting. I used about 2 1/2 cups of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I used 3/4 cups cocoa, 1/2 cup Honey roast creamy peanut butter and about 1 1/2 cups of confectioners sugar. Turned out very chocolatey and smooth!! Made my last minute thrown together brownies awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jazzycook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
A nice glossy frosting. This frosting was smooth in texture and easy to frost, "Banana Cupcakes," also from this website. I cut back on the amount of powdered sugar to about 3 cups while increasing the unsweetended cocoa powder a bit more. I opted to use 1/4 cup of melted butter instead of margarine and half and half milk with 1 tsp vanilla extract. I had to beat the frosting a bit until I achieved a smooth consistency then added a bit more half and half and sugar where I thought necessary. What I liked about this particular frosting recipe is that it did not hardened up at all on my cupcakes and it maintained its creamy texture. Also, this recipe uses cocoa powder whereas others call for chocolate squares - a nice change. Thou I am not a chocolate fan I had no complaints from anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by CHELE_BELLE
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This is the best chocolate frosting recipe I have found! I love a rich very chocolate flavor and this recipe has it, not to mention it has a very nice dark look to the frosting. Love it, love it, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELE_BELLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BOWZER70
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This frosting is so good. I made it this past weekend for Graduation cupcakes for my niece (see photo I posted). I'm making cupcakes with this frosting again this week for my husbands birthday treat to take to work! Yum! I made it exactly as written (using the margarine too). Turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Photo by SugarDuJour
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This frosting has great consistency, and easy to spread, but a little too chocolatey for me. Very dense and rich. Overall, a good chocolate frosting though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDuJour

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
this is a very Good Frosting, but i used butter instead of margarine and added a little creamcheese that i needed to use up and it was wonderful. Very creamy! Spreads nicely....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States