Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I made this just because I'd never made icing before and realized I had never seen my wife make icing on any of the many cakes she has made in our 33 years together. I only made a half recipe since I had no intention of making a cake (yet). I estimated the milk (eye-balled it) using about two thirds of a quarter cup measure. I followed the recipe exactly except for splitting the recipe in half, but it seemed to be missing something. I melted a Baker's bittersweet chocolate cube in the microwave and mixed it into the frosting and it was phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
The recipe is too sweet as-is. I tried it with 2/3 cup cocoa and only 2 cups of confectioner's sugar, but the result was still sweeter than I prefer. Also the '12' servings were not enough to fill and frost a 2-layer 8' cake. I would need to double the amount to have enough for filling and frosting. I am not sure if this due to the change in the amounts or not, but the final result also left a slight chocolate after-taste that lingers for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Good but I use butter, not margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I followed others' suggestions and used 2/3 c. cocoa and 3 c. powdered sugar. I tripled the recipe for a layer cake. Great rich, dark, color and creamy consistency, even hours afterward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I decided to make this frosting for my chocolate cupcakes based on what I had available in my pantry and I ended up not using it. I followed the recipe exactly and I'm not sure what happened but it was not thick like frosting. It was more like the consistency of cake batter and the taste was bland. I will not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalise Gamble

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This is a good fudgy frosting. I used it on a white double layer cake and there was just enough frosting for the whole cake without having to make more to fill in places. I used butter, I don't buy margarine, and I used 1/2 cup only because I glanced at the recipe without my glasses on and and that's what I thought I read. I also upped the cocoa powder to 2/3 Cup because of what I had read. Another thing that I changed was that I used heavy cream instead of milk. I wanted to use up what I had and turns out it worked great! I always sift my powdered sugar, and I also sifted my cocoa powder before I added them. Takes any and all clumps out ahead of time so you don't have one pop up. I will definitely save this recipe for further use. There's always something else that needs chocolate frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Easy and delicious! I will definitely use this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Balkowitsch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
IT IS SO GOOD!!! I USED IT ON CUPCAKES AND THE ICING EVEN EVENED ITSELF OUT AND HARDENED. PERFECTO AND ATE ALL OF THEM BEFORE I COULD EVEN CONSIDER SHARING WITH KY FRIENDS. (MWA HA HA)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Tastes delicious and it actually looks chocolately,unlike the last two I've tried. Only problem is that it makes very little for a cake. I had to triple the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Byers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Just made this. I followed the recipe exactly and it seemed SO thick, not creamy like I was expecting. But I hadn't read any reviews yet like I probably should have. I tasted it and it was too sweet and not as chocolatey as I would have hoped. After then reading some reviews I added some salt and a little more milk. That made it creamy and balanced out the sweet level and now it is pretty good. I have a feeling there are better recipes out there however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 491) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States