Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Very chocolatey and smooth! I added 2 tsp vanilla because that's how I roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
It was am okay recipe, I wouldn't use it again but it wasn't terrible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikayla Udy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I've tried a million chocolate frosting recipes and this was the absolute best! I was out of milk so I just used water instead. It tasted so good that I ate a good bit of it with a spoon while my cake was baking! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I needed a quick frosting recipe for chocolate frosting using Cocoa Powder. I had to frost 72 cup cakes. I loved how this recipe came out. I did modify it a bit. I used 3/4 cup of melted salted butter and a 1/4 water in place of the margarine.( I didn't have margarine.) I also used homemade vanilla extract.Don't use imitation vanilla splurge and get the real thing. If you want a great frosting use quality ingredients. I think what makes a difference in this recipe is what kind of cocoa powder you use. I use the exact amount of what was called for in the recipe but used a premium cocoa powder. I used Ghirardelli Majestic cocoa powder (20/22% cocoa butter content). It was fantastic. I am not a lover of average chocolate...but this was way above average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This is what I changed: 2/3c cocoa powder, 2c confec sugar, 1/2tsp salt, 1/2c "I can't believe it's not butter". (Didn't have any butter but this worked out great!) & 2/3c of heavy cream. Sift your sugar & cocoa!!! If you don't have a sifter do like I did and use a small wire colander. It makes your frosting smoother and the heavy cream made it look like a chocolate ganache. I don't like overly sweet frosting so the 2 cups of confer sugar worked out great for me. I used a spatula to mix everything, no mixer needed. I always read the reviews before I start which always helps in my cooking & baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I'm the 500th review! :) I found this recipe to be good and so easy but wish I had known the following before starting: 1. 3 1/2 c powdered sugar is too sweet, as other reviewers have commented. Should increase cocoa & decrease sugar. 2. When the milk is added to the butter/cocoa mixture (note: margarine does not enter my house), the combination seizes up and won't combine with the milk until the sugar is added. Just makes a sloppy mess. Once sugar is added, all igredients meld together perfectly. 3. Cake decorators: the frosting WILL form a nice crust suitable for decorating. 4. Would be a little less one-note with the addition of 1 tsp. espresso powder 5. This recipe makes a lot of frosting - too much for my little 9x9 pan, but probaby the perfect amount for a sheet cake. Definitely appeared to be more than the 2 cups stated. 6. I used a wire whisk in lieu of a hand mixer and it turned out great. 7. I used Trader Joe's cocoa and next time will try with a higher-end (Callebaut,Valrhona, Pernigotti, etc.) cocoa product. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ro18
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
This is an amazing and easy recipe. I had to make black colour frosting for a Mickey Mouse cake for my son's 1st birthday. I did everything to make black frosting without black colour (online people suggested mix all sorts of colour to make black but nothing worked). Then I decided to use a dark and thick chocolate frosting and this did wonders!!! The reviews were correct use a less sugar and just keep beating it for a little longer. The more I beat the frosting and kept adding blue and green liquid colour to get black colour the shinier and soft it became. The frosting tasted heavenly. Going to save this for all my chocolate cake adventures ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Excellent and creamy... used cream instead of milk...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Britt Machowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This recipe was just what I was looking for. It was a little too sweet for my taste, but I'll have to cut back a little on my next try. The first chocolate frosting I've made...all natural is AWESOME! I used butter instead of margarine. Thanks for sharing. My son helps me. He made the cake and helped on the frosting. I even let him spread. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Like many reviews have said, its too sweet and not enough chocolate. its the type of frosting that would only taste gold on something like graham crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 505) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States