Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This is a good fudgy frosting. I used it on a white double layer cake and there was just enough frosting for the whole cake without having to make more to fill in places. I used butter, I don't buy margarine, and I used 1/2 cup only because I glanced at the recipe without my glasses on and and that's what I thought I read. I also upped the cocoa powder to 2/3 Cup because of what I had read. Another thing that I changed was that I used heavy cream instead of milk. I wanted to use up what I had and turns out it worked great! I always sift my powdered sugar, and I also sifted my cocoa powder before I added them. Takes any and all clumps out ahead of time so you don't have one pop up. I will definitely save this recipe for further use. There's always something else that needs chocolate frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Easy and delicious! I will definitely use this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
IT IS SO GOOD!!! I USED IT ON CUPCAKES AND THE ICING EVEN EVENED ITSELF OUT AND HARDENED. PERFECTO AND ATE ALL OF THEM BEFORE I COULD EVEN CONSIDER SHARING WITH KY FRIENDS. (MWA HA HA)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Tastes delicious and it actually looks chocolately,unlike the last two I've tried. Only problem is that it makes very little for a cake. I had to triple the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Byers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Just made this. I followed the recipe exactly and it seemed SO thick, not creamy like I was expecting. But I hadn't read any reviews yet like I probably should have. I tasted it and it was too sweet and not as chocolatey as I would have hoped. After then reading some reviews I added some salt and a little more milk. That made it creamy and balanced out the sweet level and now it is pretty good. I have a feeling there are better recipes out there however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Why was mine gritty? I whipped & re-whipped. I added more milk. I let it sit out & rewhipped. I heated. Still gritty. What did I do wrong? The flavor was nice enough but the texture was crunchy. I used organic powdered 100% cane sugar. The kids I made it for ate it right up but it was a lot of work for it to be not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Really nice! I did what other people did and changed it to 3 cups of sugar and 2/3 cups of cocoa. Used dark chocolate almond milk in place of regular milk--to get a "creamier" feeling, I added the 1/3 cup, then later added an extra 1/4 cup, but it might be better to just use 1/2 cup next time, since now it's a little runny. But it's great, and I'll definitely use it again! Tastes great on top of brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I loved it . Hubby loved it. My new favorite chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This turned out great! I added sugar half a cup by half a cup so I could see how creamy it would turn out. I am not sure how much sugar I ended up using... I think some where between 2.5 and 3 cups. I also used butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
easy...yummy had all the ingredients in my cabinet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States