Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
This frosting was just okay - I should've heeded the advice of many others and added more cocoa powder and less powdered sugar, as the overwhelming taste is sweet, not chocolately. Also, the cocoa powder and butter really need to mix for awhile, and get a spatula in there to make sure it's not at the bottom of the mixer...I found a little residue at the bottom after I added the powdered sugar. I made this to frost chocolate pound cake from this site, and didn't end up using it (the cake stands alone and the frosting just wasn't good enough)...I'll let my kids decide if they want to put it on the cake or just on graham crackers later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This frosting took a rather average "Chewy Peanut Butter Brownies" recipe and made it one of distinction! I used half a recipe for a 9x9" pan, using butter rather than margarine, a little less powdered sugar, a bit more cocoa and half and half, a couple teaspoons of corn syrup, and about 1/2 tsp. chocolate extract in addition to the vanilla. Creamy, soft, satiny, glossy, chocolatey good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
This is a fudgey tasting chocolate frosting that sets up nicely without cracking or getting hard. I used butter instead of margarine, added 1/4t salt, and cut the sugar to 3 cups, since some reviewers said it was too sweet. This was perfect for my family, especially on Karen Dunn's Chocolate Applesauce Cake (this site). Thanks for a great treat, Tianne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
i added a lot more cocoa powder and it was pretty good, but next time i make it i'll use softened butter instead of margarine. definately let it rest and re-mix it before you use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2002
Very good frosting... I followed previous reviewers recommendations and used a little more cocoa powder and a little less sugar.... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
Good, creamy frosting. Quick and easy. Be sure to mix the margarine and cocoa well-no lumps. I used 2 1/2 cups of powdered sugar. It was sweet enough. A little more cocoa would give it a richer chocolate flavor. Will make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
I loved this recipe! However, I found that I could feel the sugar and cocoa powder in the texture of it. So, I let it rest on the counter for a fews hours. Then, I whipped again. It was perfect after that! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knowlton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
WONDERFUL!! I'VE FOUND THAT USING COCOA INSTEAD OF CHOCOLATE PIECES ALWAYS MAKES A BETTER TASTING PRODUCT. I ALWAYS USE COCOA FOR FUDGE, CAKES, FROSTINGS, ETC. IT JUST HAS A DISTINCTIVE FLAVOR THAT I ABSOLLUTELY LOVE...& THIS ONE'S SO EASY. ALSO, IT HELPS TO SIFT TOGETHER THE COCOA & SUGAR FOR A SMOOTHER TEXTURE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Nice frosting! I used butter instead of margarine, added more cocoa and used half and half instead of milk. I had to play with this a bit, but overall pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Great, creamy recipe. Use BUTTER. If you get lumps after you add the cold milk, just zap the entire mixture in the microwave for 10-15 second and mix again. I used 3 cups powdered sugar (was perfectly sweet) and increased cocoa to 2/3 cups. Use heavy cream for a shinier finish (similar to a ganache texture). Also, you can subsitute buttermilk instead of milk for a wonderful buttermilk, chocolate frosting. If you do, keep sugar at 3 1/2 cups. **I use this to frost Dark Chocolate Cake II - super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States