Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
it was pretty quick and easy just too strong of a powdered sugar taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Just used this to top Dark Chocolate Cake II from this website. I only had skim milk, and no vanilla extract on hand, but this still turned out fine. Definitely reduce the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I decreased the powder sugar and increased the coco. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Wayy too sweet and there's a powdery aftertaste.... if you like tasting sugared sand, try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This was absolutely great! Loved it! Will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rene9109

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Soooo yummy!! I followed the recipe exactly and I only got 1 cup instead of 2 =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I was hoping for a thicker, "whipped" texture like in most of the cupcake photos on here where they have swirls on top. Mine came out quite runny. Maybe adding more powdered sugar would have fixed that, but I felt that it was almost too sweet already, and didn't want it to be more so. I tried adding more cocoa, but it didn't change it much. The frosting also looked grainy. The milk didn't beat in smoothly or easily at all. Is this because I used butter instead of margarine? Or maybe because it was my first attempt at homemade frosting and just missed some unwritten rule? Don't get me wrong, the taste was still nice on the cake that I made, but it's a good thing it was just a square pan cake for my husband and I that didn't need to look "pretty". I didn't get the overall result I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
One of the best frostings I have piped with. This came out the perfect consistency with the given amounts of each ingredient. Went perfectly on my brownie batter cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This Frosting Recipe is good.... but I will have to agree with the other reviewers that I did tend to taste a little powder sugary..... But still very creamy and good.... next time I will try adding more butter and cocoa.... Will definately use again though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I had to use shortening because I had run out of butter, and this frosting turned out awesome!! No one mentioned the cupcakes, only how good the frosting was. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States