Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I used 3/4 cups cocoa, 1/2 cup Honey roast creamy peanut butter and about 1 1/2 cups of confectioners sugar. Turned out very chocolatey and smooth!! Made my last minute thrown together brownies awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
A nice glossy frosting. This frosting was smooth in texture and easy to frost, "Banana Cupcakes," also from this website. I cut back on the amount of powdered sugar to about 3 cups while increasing the unsweetended cocoa powder a bit more. I opted to use 1/4 cup of melted butter instead of margarine and half and half milk with 1 tsp vanilla extract. I had to beat the frosting a bit until I achieved a smooth consistency then added a bit more half and half and sugar where I thought necessary. What I liked about this particular frosting recipe is that it did not hardened up at all on my cupcakes and it maintained its creamy texture. Also, this recipe uses cocoa powder whereas others call for chocolate squares - a nice change. Thou I am not a chocolate fan I had no complaints from anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by CHELE_BELLE
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This is the best chocolate frosting recipe I have found! I love a rich very chocolate flavor and this recipe has it, not to mention it has a very nice dark look to the frosting. Love it, love it, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELE_BELLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BOWZER70
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This frosting is so good. I made it this past weekend for Graduation cupcakes for my niece (see photo I posted). I'm making cupcakes with this frosting again this week for my husbands birthday treat to take to work! Yum! I made it exactly as written (using the margarine too). Turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Photo by SugarDuJour
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This frosting has great consistency, and easy to spread, but a little too chocolatey for me. Very dense and rich. Overall, a good chocolate frosting though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDuJour

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
this is a very Good Frosting, but i used butter instead of margarine and added a little creamcheese that i needed to use up and it was wonderful. Very creamy! Spreads nicely....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I used only 2 tbsp butter and 2 tbsp peanut butter melted them together. I only used 2 1/2 - 3 cups of the sugar. it came out sooo good a nice mix of Chocolate and peanut butter favor and an awesome texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Yummy Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Like a few others, I subbed butter for the margarine and didn't bother to melt it. I used it softened and it was fine. Also used whipping cream in place of the milk because I had it and also figured it would hold up a bit better for piping purposes and I was right. Excellent taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I tried to use this on my cake but I used almost 5 or more powdered sugar and it was still runny like water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States