Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Always dubious about suger quantities I made this with abut 20% of the suger listed and it was perfect. My sugestion is that the suger quantity should be 20% of what is listed with guidance to add suger to taste if one likes sweater treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I replaced the melted margarine with melted coconut oil, doubled the cocoa powder and only used two cups of powdered sugar. The resulting frosting was fantastic and much healthier. Great texture as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Decent, quick icing. I was restricted by stock of ingredients, this was the most feasible recipe. However, the flavor was a bit weird, most likely due to with what was used (toll house cocoa and an off brand of confectioners sugar). I tried twice, once with vanilla extract and once with almond extract. I really preferred the almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Couldn't eat this frosting on our cake! Ended up pretty chunky and grainy. Also, it needs more cocoa powder for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This is my go to chocolate frosting recipe, I've been using it for over a year and it is just the right balance of chocolate and sweetness for me and my family. I always double the recipe because one recipe isn't enough for my chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Horrible! The flavor was not even that chocolaty and the texture was horrible even after making it twice and adding a lot more powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHINee_SuJu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Easy and fast to make. Delicious! My kids and their friends keep asking for more. The frosting goes well with pretty much everything. I use softened butter instead of melted and I add more cocoa powder and less sugar, making it more chocolately. When I have some left over, I whip up some brownies and frost them with it. Best recipe for chocolate frosting, make it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Easily spread and delicious!! A GREAT recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was great, I used it to decorate a large chocolate chip cookie/cake. There was plenty with about a cup of frosting left over. I also used butter ( I never use margarine in anything). I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 491) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States