Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Oh my, I sure loved this one! However, it is necessary to keep adding Cocoa Powder until you reach the taste you desire! Quick and easy, for a more fluffy texture, I added two tablespoons of marshmallow cream and 2 tablespoons of hot fudge!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I used butter and only put in enough powdered sugar to make it a frosting consistency. I also added 1/2 tsp salt and 1 tsp cinnamon. Fantastic! I would recommend heating the butter/milk/chocolate mixture, otherwise the milk will cause the butter to solidify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Wow this was an awesome yet simple recipe! Plus i could easily find all the ingredients in my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This frosting is so darn easy to make, it's hard to imagine anyone wanting or needing to buy the store bought stuff. It even has a similar spreading consistency. I used it to frost a brownie cake. For some reason, first time I tested it with 1/2 a recipe I had to add 1 Tblsp of milk for proper spreading consistency. Second time, I made a full recipe and didn't have to add any extra liquid. It is very sweet, but what frosting isn't. Only change I made was using butter instead of margarine, just because I like the taste better. I would use this on a cupcake recipe in the future. Make sure to have beaters handy, a spoon will cause clumping. They are needed to make the frosting creamy. TY, for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I had to tweak this recipe as I went. First, I added a bit more than 1/2 cup cocoa powder. Then I realized there was definitely not enough for my 2 layered 9in-round cake so I added another 1/4c of butter (instead of margarine, by the way). And boy was I glad I slowly added the powdered sugar. Even after increasing the butter and cocoa powder, I still only used maybe 1.75c of the sugar and it was plenty sweet. I did have to use a whole 1/3c milk (but that is with me doubling the butter). 2 stars for the base, but with my adjustments, 4 stars. I will continue to look for other recipes that do not need so much tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Always dubious about suger quantities I made this with abut 20% of the suger listed and it was perfect. My sugestion is that the suger quantity should be 20% of what is listed with guidance to add suger to taste if one likes sweater treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I replaced the melted margarine with melted coconut oil, doubled the cocoa powder and only used two cups of powdered sugar. The resulting frosting was fantastic and much healthier. Great texture as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Decent, quick icing. I was restricted by stock of ingredients, this was the most feasible recipe. However, the flavor was a bit weird, most likely due to with what was used (toll house cocoa and an off brand of confectioners sugar). I tried twice, once with vanilla extract and once with almond extract. I really preferred the almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Couldn't eat this frosting on our cake! Ended up pretty chunky and grainy. Also, it needs more cocoa powder for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This is my go to chocolate frosting recipe, I've been using it for over a year and it is just the right balance of chocolate and sweetness for me and my family. I always double the recipe because one recipe isn't enough for my chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States