Chocolate Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Makes a nice thick frosting very chocolately tasting. Best part of the cupcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Tastes okay, looks funny, with specks of darker brown in it, like something didn't blend in well. Maybe I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I'll confess, I changed alot of this recipe. But, in my defense, I cannot have dairy or sugar, and I didn't want my gluten-free cupcakes to be naked. I used butter, coconut milk, carob powder with a splash of cocoa powder, and 1 2/3 cup coconut sugar and 1/3 cup powdered maple syrup. It had moments where it was really difficult to blend fully, but I let it sit for a bit, then went back to finish beating it. It turned out for me a cross between a thick glaze and a soft frosting. (if I could use powdered sugar, it would've been perfect!) As it was, the flavor is AMAZING!!! So delicious! Thank you for this base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by That Girl3

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I added more cocoa and vanilla and this was sooo yummy! It was used to frost a chocolate chip banana cake and will def. be used again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I used this recipe as a basic formula for my own dark chocolate cupcake frosting. I used 1 stick of butter, 1 cup plus 4 tbsp. dark cocoa, 1/2 cup heavy cream and only 1 1/2 cup confectioner sugar since I wanted the frosting to be more chocolatey than sweet. I whipped this all in my kitchenaid for quite some time, then I piped this onto Simple White Cake (from here) cupcakes and it was TO DIE FOR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moluv

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I only used 2 1/2 cups of confectioners' sugar and the frosting was plenty thick. I used it to frost fabulous fudge cake (also from allrecipes.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Way better than the store bought stuff! It's so yummy you don't even need the cake. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Forest, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Delicious!!!! I used water instead of milk, and only a few Tablespoons, and it came out so chocolaty:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This tasted just like store-bought frosting, which was perfect. My bf loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K_Palm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I followed the recipe. the color looked very chocolatey. I felt that it didn't taste chocolatey enough for my taste. add it had a gridy feel when you ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 496) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States