Chocolate Frosted Marshmallow Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
SO GOOD!! Just like at the "Cookie Cutter" cookie shop! Exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmyitalianhubby
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Im giving this recipe only 3 stars for various reasons. First of all the display picture was the reason I took interest in the recipe. The cake like dough was really good. However when I baked it, and tried it, it was dry and very bland. So then I added the marshmallow, and did as the recipe called for. Then tasted it and wasn't impressed at all. To enjoy this recipe I tried several different things as I was determined not to waste my time and effort in making this, cause overall it was good but just needed alot of sprucing up. I chopped pecans, I covered the marshmallow with some more chocolate dough and baked, still to not avail. In my last attempt, which was the winner, was i took some choc. chips and shortening and melted it. Threw the marshmallows out altogether and just used the chopped pecans, and drizzled chocolate over, then to spruce it up a little more, I put powdered sugar over the top. Long story short, its a good starting off point, but it definitely needs more creative touch. Its not necessarily a cookie either, its more of a cake like treat. I dont know if I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmyitalianhubby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Fantastic cookies! My husband really likes these. Although there are several steps, it's still a really easy recipe. I used a 1 tablespoon-size cookie scoop and came out with 30 cookies, which is what the recipe says. The cookies are cake-like and the frosting is really fudgey. Be careful though, they are really sweet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I was so enamored with the idea of this recipe; I have a huge weakness for the chocolate/marshmallow combination. But this just didn't deliver. The cookie was bland, at best. It had a very plain chocolate flavor, and the recommended frosting didn't add a new note. Worse, the marshmallows didn't spread or flatten; they just sit on top and add a lot of height to the cookie - also making it very difficult to frost. On the plus side, the texture of the cookie is lovely. It's soft and cake-like (if you read the directions, step 3 states this), nice and fluffy. Some depth to the flavor would make this a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahmarie_co

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
These are good with or without frosting. i made mine too big and only made about 3 dozen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginamaria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Lane, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
The cookies ended up good but, they were a more of a cake cookie than I thought they would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorane, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Very, Very Yummy..Wish they would be firmer and bigger but very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Very yummy. I would definately make these again. Would like a little bit firmer cookie though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
The cookie part didn't have much flavor. Way too much work for the result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troutdale, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I really was disappointed with these cookies for a couple of reasons... First, they were very "cakey", not like a cookie batter. Because of this, they didn't set up very well and ended up very thin (not how I like my cookies). Also, the color for mine did not look like what you would expect of a chocolate cookie... It was almost a caramel color. I LOVE the idea for these cookies, using the marshmallow and then fudge frosting on the top, so I wanted to love them, but they just didn't cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AbbyMP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States