Chocolate French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
yum. Can't go wrong with chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I did the recipe like it said to do it and 1 batch was doughy and the other batch burned and was still doughy. I couldn't get it to where it wasn't doughy in the middle. what do you suggest?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I tried this recipe exactly as stated and I found it too thin, it was very bland. I have tried much better French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Yummy. After reading other reviews with complaints of the coco powder not mixing, I mixed my dry ingredients first then the milk and eggs, and slowly added the wet ingredients to the dry while whisking together and it turned out fine. Just did basic butter and syrup, but next time fruit will be added as other reviewers have suggested. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I used Nesquick instead of sugar and cocoa powder (dissolves MUCH better), and served with canned cherry pie filly and cool whip. Much better than ordinary French toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Made this passed Sunday for brunch. Everyone LOVED it! Made the recipe as is, did not change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This was really great to have when we had the cravings of chocolate, but wanted something filling and not candy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I warmed my milk then added the cocoa mix. This works so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was amazing. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
My kids love chocolate chip pancakes and this is even easier (and healthier as it turns out!). Be careful to let the excess egg wash drain off before you cook it in a pan or it might be a little mushy in middle. I had some egg batter left over after the kids left so I put it in a remikin dish, tore up pieces of leftover bread and microwaved it for 8 mins on level 4. Guess what??!? I created wonderful servings of chocolate bread pudding which when cooled was a hit after school with a little confectioners sugar or whipped cream. I will make this for sleepovers and be a neighborhood hero or make the bread pudding alternative when we have people over and impress the whole crowd! Next I will experiment with skim milk, a lower egg white/yolk combo, and whole grain breads to find the healthiest version-- maybe even add a tablespoon of flax seed. I highly recommend using egg beaters to fluff up the eggs and mix the cocoa completely into the egg wash. Add cocoa a little at a time at low speed initially or it will create "cocoa smoke" and you'll have more to clean up than eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States