Chocolate French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Loved the idea, it was perfectly sweet and I could taste the chocolate. Rather than adding cocoa powder to the milk/egg mixture, I just used chocolate milk. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Cute idea, but probably not something I'd make again. Like other reviewers mentioned, the cocoa powder just didn't want to mix into the egg mixture. I thought about warming the milk then adding it into the egg mixture, but I didn't want scrambled eggs. Perhaps using something like a cocoa mix, like Swiss Miss or Nesquick would have been an easier mix...but that is not what the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Even my I-Shirk-Away-From-Anything-Remotely-Sweet-Or-Chocolatey mother ate three slices (yes, an achievement for her)! Pretty good, but nothing exceptional. You couldn't really taste the 'French Toast-ty' thing in it; it was like a lovely chocolate toast. I omitted the baking powder because I was out of it, and it turned out very good. However, I needed to use 13 slices of bread (store-bought). I needed to use A LOT of oil, even with a non-stick pan. HINT: Fry them well till crisp; the texture is like that of a cake-ish bread when they aren't fried really well. I also found they taste better when cooled, not steaming hot from the pan; and this is coming from a person who won't come within a mile's radius of remotely cooled toast, French or otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I have not made this but if you mix the cocoa and sugar together making sure there are no lumps in the cocoa. Then add the milk, a little at a time making a paste. Slowly add the remaining milk; mixing to make a syrup. Add to the other ingredients. There should be no problem getting the cocoa to mix in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made this recipe this past weekend. I saw the reviews about difficulty mixing the cocoa in the mix...I was able to get it mixed in well with a hand held mixer, it took about a minute but got it to work on low to medium speed. the french toast turned out well...not too sweet but just the right amount of sweetness. I also used half and half instead of milk...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Nice recipe. Whenever you try to add a dry ingredient, you must whisk the sugar and cocoa or cinnamon with the eggs first then add the milk little by little or it will all separate and rise to the top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This was good and quick enough to throw together. I had a little difficulty getting my cocoa powder to incorporate with the other ingredients. I’d suggest mixing the dry ingredients with just the eggs first and then adding the milk to make this incorporation easier. This was delicious served with cherry pie filling and powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I just have to say we loved this. Made it exactly as written while being snowed inside during the Blizzard of 2010 in Southern Maryland. It had a nice and rich chocolate flavor - justed used a little less sugar. We also had Almond Syrup that went really good with it. Thanks lots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carousel-Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This was very tasty and pretty quick to make for a homemade breakfast. I scaled the recipe down to two servings which worked very well. I also used Wonder Smart White bread and defrosted some strawberries which I quickly mashed with a fork and poured on top with the syrup. My picky four year old ate every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Oh wow. I have to give this a 5 star review for one simple fact: I *hate* French Toast. However, I loved these to pieces! I didn't have any fruit-flavoured syrup, so I improvised by making a quick syrup out of cherry pie filling on the stove. I know that these will be making a regular appearance on my breakfast menu! I also love how the ingredients are simple and commonly stocked in most kitchens. No outlandish or odd ingredients; everything is simple and straightforward for a quick, easy to make meal that anyone can love. Even a french toast-hater like me can be converted. I noticed people have said the cocoa doesn't wish to mix in. I had no problems, but I used a sifter to blend the sugar and cocoa in at the same time, eliminating the lumps in the cocoa. It *did* settle at the bottom, but mixing it between cooking times on the stove helped keep it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mhend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States