Chocolate French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I cut the recipe down to 1/4 since I was just feeding myself. I replaced the sugar and cocoa with 2 Tbs of some really nice organic hot (dark) chocolate mix I had on hand, which solved the issue of mixing in the cocoa powder. The bread was 3/4" thick slices from a hearty whole-grain, seed-covered baguette. I normally fry my french toast in coconut oil, but this time I used 1/2 butter for the flavor. The toast came out sweet enough that I just topped it with plain yogurt, and it was fabulous - as well as healthy. As usual, I had a little of the mixture left over so I scrambled it, with a sprinkle of shredded coconut mixed in. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy J

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I have been making this for years adding almond flavoring and topping with sweetened whipped cream and fruit. My B&B guests loved it! If you are having trouble mixing the cocoa in, try mixing it with the sugar in a small amount of warm water first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I wonder how a pina colada french toast would tast , I challenge some one to get a recepe , I am not enclined in this area
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbbobme2
Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
To mix the cocoa powder in evenly so you don’t get lumps, I mix the powder with a little of the milk/egg mixture to make a paste. Then combine the rest of the milk/egg mixture with the cocoa paste. I also add a little vanilla and cinnamon to accent the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
for easier blending of cocoa, stir together the cocoa and sugar until well mixed, then proceed to the rest of the prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Just made it. For the people complaining about the cocoa not blending with the egg mixture, you need to make a paste of the cocoa, sugar, baking powder and salt with a small amount of milk first. Then once the cocoa has dissolved, add the rest of the milk and whisk to combine well. What I do after all has been combined is pour the mixture through a mesh strainer to remove any egg shells or lumps so you end up with a nice smooth batter. It was actually pretty good, and a nice change from the usual french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I think this would be soooo much easier, if you just used some Hershey's Chocolate syrup instead of cocoa!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I have not made this but if you mix the cocoa and sugar together making sure there are no lumps in the cocoa. Then add the milk, a little at a time making a paste. Slowly add the remaining milk; mixing to make a syrup. Add to the other ingredients. There should be no problem getting the cocoa to mix in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
These came out delicious. I just wisked the cocoa and dry ingredients together first, then added wet. Seemed to blend just fine, Maybe letting it set a little bit when mixed and re-mixing may help. I used thicker 7-grain toast and loved it, Just got to cook it on a lower setting and for longer with thick cuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made this recipe this past weekend. I saw the reviews about difficulty mixing the cocoa in the mix...I was able to get it mixed in well with a hand held mixer, it took about a minute but got it to work on low to medium speed. the french toast turned out well...not too sweet but just the right amount of sweetness. I also used half and half instead of milk...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States