Chocolate French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
WoW!! Thank you, We loved the chocolate french toast. We ate them with out any topping and we will make this again. Thank you for creating such an addition to our lives. Tip: I use my waffle maker to cook french toast. It looks a little funny. But, it cooks faster, both side are done at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
The taste is really good! Some of the cocoa powder doesn't mix with the other ingredients so the first 2 slices of bread have dry cocoa powder on them, and they were kinda black after being cooked. But they taste really good nonetheless! And after that, the cocoa powder is gone so the 3rd slice and so on didn't have any problem at all. And once again I will say, the taste is yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AudiesMama
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
A seasoned baker knows you should mix the cocoa powder together with the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
You always have to mix the choc and sugar together and add the milk slowly. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was pretty good. I added even more chocolate flavor to it by making chocolate bread the night before. If you will heat up some of the milk first before whisking in the cocoa powder, you won't have any problem getting the cocoa mixed in. I added vanilla to the recipe, which makes it taste and smell even better. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I have not tried this either but I always mix cinnammon into my french toast mix and it does the same thing....doesnt bother me though...Im not sure what the issue is....if theres a better way please let me know:) This sounds FABULOUS!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
A nice recipe for when you are looking for something different, I sifted the dry ingredients (cocoa powder, baking powder, salt and sugar) and beat the eggs in one at a time, then slowly added the milk. I substituted fructose instead of sugar as I am diabetic. Cooked on low-med heat. My daughter who loves Nutella used this on hers, everyone else used their favorite toppings from maple to golden syrup. This is a recipe I may make again if the family ask for it. Personally I still prefer traditional French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Limassol, Limassol, Cyprus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Oh wow. I have to give this a 5 star review for one simple fact: I *hate* French Toast. However, I loved these to pieces! I didn't have any fruit-flavoured syrup, so I improvised by making a quick syrup out of cherry pie filling on the stove. I know that these will be making a regular appearance on my breakfast menu! I also love how the ingredients are simple and commonly stocked in most kitchens. No outlandish or odd ingredients; everything is simple and straightforward for a quick, easy to make meal that anyone can love. Even a french toast-hater like me can be converted. I noticed people have said the cocoa doesn't wish to mix in. I had no problems, but I used a sifter to blend the sugar and cocoa in at the same time, eliminating the lumps in the cocoa. It *did* settle at the bottom, but mixing it between cooking times on the stove helped keep it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mhend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Nice recipe. Whenever you try to add a dry ingredient, you must whisk the sugar and cocoa or cinnamon with the eggs first then add the milk little by little or it will all separate and rise to the top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I cut the recipe down to 1/4 since I was just feeding myself. I replaced the sugar and cocoa with 2 Tbs of some really nice organic hot (dark) chocolate mix I had on hand, which solved the issue of mixing in the cocoa powder. The bread was 3/4" thick slices from a hearty whole-grain, seed-covered baguette. I normally fry my french toast in coconut oil, but this time I used 1/2 butter for the flavor. The toast came out sweet enough that I just topped it with plain yogurt, and it was fabulous - as well as healthy. As usual, I had a little of the mixture left over so I scrambled it, with a sprinkle of shredded coconut mixed in. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy J

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States