Chocolate Flan Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carol Ochs
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I'd been questing after a good chocolate flan cake recipe after we had it had a party, my family and I LOVED it, but the person who made it was all secretive about the recipe and wouldn't give it up! (Party-pooper! A good recipe is MEANT to be shared!) The reviews on this recipe here looked outstanding so I gave it a whirl! I must admit, initially I thought two hours (is that possibly a *typo* on the recipe-provider's part? Two hours???) seemed like a really long time to back a cake and not over-bake it, so I monitored it closely while I was baking mine. I don't know if different oven heating/bake times can vary THAT much that everyone here seems to have such differing results...but after one hour, mine was done, toothpick came out with just a few crumbs on it, and I can't imagine letting the cake go another 30 minutes, let alone another hour without ruining the whole thing! So my only caution would be for you to watch your cake closely the first time you make it to see what your oven's bake time will be on it. On hour was perfect for mine. I also did the 10 minutes continued sitting in the hot water after taking out of the oven, and an additional 15 minutes on a wire rack as others suggested here, before inverting the cake onto a plate. Then I immediately put it int he fridge to chill. The caramel absorbs into the cake and voila! The cake was perfection! Took it to a gathering and it was a total hit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Ochs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This was amazing. Turned out just like the picture. Everyone said the flan was the best they ever had and I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Ertl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Super moist and delicious! Made this just like the recipe said and it came out amazing. The only change was I only left it in the over for 1 hour and 30 minutes and it was more than ready. I had not problem getting it out of the pan. Definitely recommend eating it chilled so the flan is firmer. My boyfriend doesn't really like chocolate cake but for some reason he has not been able to stop eating this one. Turns out he loves flan too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
If you ever hope to bring anything else to any potluck or event EVER, do not make this cake! It is so easy, and so good, you will be asked for every event to make this cake. That being said, it is VERY good, and I always get comments and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryEllen Barber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DarleneHart
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
It's my first one so I have nothing to compare too but it was awesome! I was scared following directions thinking how's the milk gonna meet the caramel but it did and was funny to watch lol it all worked out beautifully and my Mexican friend I made it for really liked it too :) oh and we ate it warm and it was still good. I tried it this morning and still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Made recipe as stated and turned out beautiful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This cake is delicious! Very moist, and the flan gives it the perfect sweetness. Perfect the way it is. I didn't change a thing in this recipe. I feel that people who rate and then change ingredients are not being accurate or fair to the cook who sends it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
AWESOME AND EASY DESSERT. I also baked for 1 hour 30 minutes as others recommended and it was done. Let sit for 10 minutes in the hot water bath with foil off and another 15-20 on a cooling rack before turning over. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Allyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alaa.B
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is my first flan cake. We don't have caramel topping in my area, so I prepared a homemade one following a recipe from another website. I didn't find devil cake mix so I used the fudge cake mix instead. This cake turned out great and I loved the balance of the flan to cake amount. I made one large cake. You can check the photo. This is so good and will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alaa.B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Damascus, Damascus, Syria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dina
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Came out great. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States