Chocolate Espresso Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Every holiday season I attend a rather competitive cookie exchange with a group of fellow moms, and this year I was looking for a mocha-type cookie recipe being that I have been on a Starbucks' kick lately. Well, this recipe is a winner, hands down! For recipes that I find online, I try not to initially change things too much, but after reading the reviews, I made my first test batch with a full cup of flour. The batter wasn't as thin as I thought it would be from the other reviews, and so I will continue to make these with 1 cup of flour (with so much chocolate in the batter, the flavor is still there, and with the three eggs, they still had a very fudgie consistency.) For the 2nd test batch, I made them with a full tbsp. of espresso grounds (Starbucks' Espresso Roast, #9 grinder setting.) This change seems to have upped the coffee flavor some, but going along with another reviewer, I feel these cookies get better after a day or more, so I will see after they are completely cooled and the flavors have had time to meld. I can see how some reviewers used this batter to make brownies instead. I probably never will, but I noticed that these cookies have to sit on the sheets (I use stoneware so the cookies do continue to cook even after they are out of the oven) for several minutes to set. Bottom line, these gems are so fudgie and delicious. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
My 2 year old daughter and I made these and the only changes we made were using brown sugar, dark chocolate chips, and instant coffee (about 1 1/2 T) because that's what I had. They are awesome! Everybody loved them. I love regular cookie dough, but this dough is almost like fudge! I ate umm...a lot of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
These were pretty good, but the batter was very thin. I had to add a lot of extra flour, so the cookies were a bit cake-like. Next time I might just pour the batter in a baking dish and make brownies out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I actually found this on anther site a few years ago and this is one of my all time faves. Yes, it has a brownie like consistency, so it was a surprise the 1st time I made it, but a GOOD surprise. Every time I make this I am showered with a mix of compliments (Oh my gawd these are amazing) and complaints (I hate you, a cannot stop eating these!), so I am always happy to make and share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scullycat68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
My son and I have made these twice! Awesome! Instead of the walnuts, I used 1 cup of White Chocolate Chips. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AHodge03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newmarket, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Absolutely delicious. I ended up discarding the nuts and mixing all of the chocolate chips into the initial chocolate mixture. This changed the cookie time a bit (if I did it for 11 minutes they turned out really mushy), so I just ended up taking them out when they looked "done". A huge hit with friends and family. Another fun thing to try is using peppermint coffee, which gave the cookies more of a christmas-y feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
If you love rich chocolate, coffee, and a nice soft texture, this is a great cookie recipe! I have made it at least 10 times for my family and friends, and they always turn out tasting good. I always use the "microwave and glass bowl technique" to melt the chocolate chips and baking chocolate. The only problem I have had when baking these cookies is that sometimes they flatten out too much if the batter gets too close to room temperature. They seem to do much better when the batter is put in the refrigerator for 15 minutes before baking. Watch these closely--as soon as they begin cracking, take them out--they will look gooey, but after they cool, they will be rich and delicious! Thanks for this recipe--one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
These really hit the spot! I used instant espresso powder instead of espresso grounds and upped the amount to a heaping tablespoon which turned out great! I also upped the flour to a cup because of everyone saying how flat the cookies were coming out, and it did work, but I probably would have liked them the way they were since I like flat cookies. But if you like your cookies a little cakier, try that. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Fabulous!! All in the family loves these as they have a very satisfying and strong chocolate flavor. I also increased the amount of coffee to 1 TBSP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Incredible! I'd actually use a little more coffee, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States