Chocolate Espresso Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
when i first finished mixing the batch, i placed the cookies on the sheet and they just melted right on there, so i thought it was a disaster. if you leave the batch around exposed for a while, it hardens, and the melting won't happen. i wouldn't make these cookies for guests to eat right out of the oven, but the day after, they're just absolutely to die for! love this recipe!! but not to be made the day-of for dinner guests, for instance
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
If you love rich chocolate, coffee, and a nice soft texture, this is a great cookie recipe! I have made it at least 10 times for my family and friends, and they always turn out tasting good. I always use the "microwave and glass bowl technique" to melt the chocolate chips and baking chocolate. The only problem I have had when baking these cookies is that sometimes they flatten out too much if the batter gets too close to room temperature. They seem to do much better when the batter is put in the refrigerator for 15 minutes before baking. Watch these closely--as soon as they begin cracking, take them out--they will look gooey, but after they cool, they will be rich and delicious! Thanks for this recipe--one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
Chocolate Espresso Cookies are awesome! I made a big batch to share with my coworkers, and everyone _loved_ them! They are perfect, and the espresso flavor is not at all overpowering. Some folks who tried them suggested putting in whole espresso beans -- only for true caffeine nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
OH yeah! I love coffee,so I'm going to rate this one high. I made this recepie into brownies. WOW! There awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
These really hit the spot! I used instant espresso powder instead of espresso grounds and upped the amount to a heaping tablespoon which turned out great! I also upped the flour to a cup because of everyone saying how flat the cookies were coming out, and it did work, but I probably would have liked them the way they were since I like flat cookies. But if you like your cookies a little cakier, try that. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I actually found this on anther site a few years ago and this is one of my all time faves. Yes, it has a brownie like consistency, so it was a surprise the 1st time I made it, but a GOOD surprise. Every time I make this I am showered with a mix of compliments (Oh my gawd these are amazing) and complaints (I hate you, a cannot stop eating these!), so I am always happy to make and share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scullycat68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
This was the first time I've tried making a chocolate-based cookie, but gosh, it tasted great! I like the recipe primarily because the cookies taste sufficiently chocolatey without being too sweet. I added an extra teaspoonful of espresso just for the extra punch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
VERY deep and dark on the chocolate, if you like that sorta thing, and the coffee taste is a mild one. It was basically a thinned out brownie, and although they are ultra-rich, we still enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Absolutely delicious. I ended up discarding the nuts and mixing all of the chocolate chips into the initial chocolate mixture. This changed the cookie time a bit (if I did it for 11 minutes they turned out really mushy), so I just ended up taking them out when they looked "done". A huge hit with friends and family. Another fun thing to try is using peppermint coffee, which gave the cookies more of a christmas-y feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myranda Whitesides

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
These cookies are great! I made them the other night and have two of my favorite things in them - coffee and chocolate!! They are delicious and easy. Just don't forget to grease the cookie sheets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States