Chocolate Eclair Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This was pretty good, simple to make, and did have an eclair taste. I would recommend crushing up the vanilla wafers instead of using whole wafers as the cookies will soften up better. I refrigerated this overnight and some of the cookies still weren't as soft as they could have been. For the top layer I substituted crushed chocolate wafers and used half a container of milk chocolate frosting which I microwaved for 30 seconds and poured over as a glaze. Next time I'll use homemade whipped cream as opposed to Cool Whip and see if that helps the flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Gray Court, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This was another recipe that I had to tweak. Instead of using vanilla pudding I used banana and I used almost 2 boxes of wafers because I laid them down whole and crushed. As for the chocolate I don't like to microwave it so I melted it using the pan to pan method after I drizzled it over the top and used some of the cookie crumbles just for decoration. It was a hit with the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Very easy to make, I tried french vanilla pudding,it was a HUGE hit at my church. I LOVE this recipe.HINT,,I tried extra cool whip,,it does not cut into squares,too creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~Angela~
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Very simple and tastes good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Angela~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Hewitt, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This dessert is super easy and tastes GREAT!! My 15yr old son made it for his dad's 40th bday. My family could not get enough of it. He doubled the receipe, used two boxes of vanilla wafers so there would be alot of wafers. He melted chocolate on a double boiler and drizzled it like the picture shows. He could not get enough praise on how well it tasted that day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This is a good recipe. However would recommend making a crust for the bottom layer. When I tried to use whole wafers on the bottom the wafers kept pulling up. Also when I made the pudding I used some heavy whipping cream to help thicken it so it would cut up nice. Tastes great will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I have made this using Graham crackers instead of vanilla wafers. No cookie crushing involved, and the cracker layer is moist. Pudding layers don't have to be as thick either. For my top layer I spread out the cool whip & drizzle Hershey's Chocolate sauce. Extremely easy & tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Boy! I say it was a hit! I only got a spoonful for me today, my family wiped me out! I made it last night and this morning I got a shock when I looked in the frig, you could add bananas to this. Or use banana pudding in place of vanilla. I might try it like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Measurements are WAY OFF! I ended up doing my own with 3 - 1 ounce packages of sugar free vanilla pudding, 6 cups of lowfat milk, 8 ounces of fat free cool whip, and reduced fat nilla wafers. Came out tasting great but don't follow the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This was a hit! It was Tasty and light. I'm not a fan of the heavy desserts. I will make this again but I will probably make it chocolate, by using chocolate pudding, this is a vanilla eclair in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lross224

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marblehead, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Eclair Dessert

See how to make a super-easy, no-bake dessert with instant vanilla pudding.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Homemade Chocolate Cronuts

Pudding-filled chocolate donuts made with refrigerated crescent dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States