Chocolate Eclair Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I suggrest making 1.5x the chocolate sauce so you have enough. Reduce the sugar in the sauce by 1/3 and cut the amount of butter in half. Use plain graham crackers, French vanilla pudding and real whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BoiseBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
My husband is a diabetic. I used sugar free pudding & cool whip, reduced sugar graham crackers (not chocolate), and decreased the sugar in the topping to 3/4 cup. Very quick and cool on a hot day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This recipe was AMAZING! It tasted just like Éclairs. The few things I changed was to use honey graham crackers and the pre-made icing. I brought it into work for my 20 Male co-workers and it was gone in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tallkris
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Nice and light dessert. Perfect for summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
It was okay if you like the taste of pudding a lot. This cake doesn't really taste like an éclair, it just tastes like pudding. Also, it doesn't keep well, so you will need to eat it in the first 3 days that you make it. This is a good recipe if you love pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
You must use INSTANT PUDDING. Cook and Serve Pudding will not turn out right. Also I made a kind of glaze by microwaving 3 T butter with 3 T Milk- not to boiling. Then stir in 3 T cocoa and 1/2 Cup or more depending on taste powdered sugar. Be sure to either sift cocoa and sugar or be prepared to whisk till cocoa and sugar are not lumpy. My family loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
i also used the honey and it was much better. i melt the canned frosting in the microwave and pour it over. also i usually do at least 3 layers. Great tip for summer is this is also GREAT frozen!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Frosting difficult to work with. I followed the directions for the frosting, and let it cool. Then it was hard and dry and unspreadable. How are we supposed to cool it, without it hardening? Had to make another batch of frosting to cover up the first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This is old-timey, my mom simply called it icebox cake and used regular grahams, not chocolate, and used chocolate pudding sometimes, sometimes a layer of vanilla and a layer of chocolate pudding. It was really a staple dessert at our house and everyone loved it. She did not always top it with cream of any kind, simply crumbled grahams over the top. I still make it the very same way ... it's a snap and always a pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Great summer dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Berggren Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States