Chocolate Eclair Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Only difference was out of necessity: I used half and half for the pudding mix as I was out of milk. So very rich and creamy! My husband said this was the best dessert I have ever made.... rave reviews by all who sampled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
I did a few alternation, and it was Awesome! First: Use the Regular Graham Crackers-NOT Chocolate! Second: Use FRENCH Vanilla Pudding. Third: Use Betty Crocker's DARK CHOCOLATE Icing (30 seconds in Microwave) and pour over the last layer of Graham Crackers. Refrigerate overnite...EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
This recipe is extraordinary because it uses very ordinary ingredients that result in the sophisticated taste of eclairs. A few hints: MAKE THE SAUCE FIRST! It will be nearly cool and ready to spread by the time the other ingredients are assembled. If you want a more "true" eclair taste, use honey graham crackers instead of chocolate. You do not need to butter the pan first, and you do not need a full package of graham crackers. I counted about 20 in my 13x9 pan. Take the time to make the chocolate sauce. It tastes much better than canned, and doesn't have all that heart-clogging palm oil in it. Also, the sauce needs only 1/2 t. vanilla in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
This is a Fabulous and Quick Recipe. My kids LOVED this, the only thing I did differently was I added a can of Eagle Brand Condensed Milk to the filling (this gave it the same pudding taste as our favority no cook banana pudding) Wow, it was great and even better the next day! This is definitely a keeper at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylacauga, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
As a whole, the cake is VERY good. However, next time I will use store-bought chocolate frosting rather than making the toping. The topping gets hard and it is a little bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
This recipe is definitely a "keeper". My husband, who usually doesn't eat many sweets, couldn't get enough of this cake! He kept going back for more! The kids also loved it, and they are picky eaters. I also used the canned frosting with great results. The other reviews were right on-this tastes better the next day, so plan ahead when taking to a potluck...but be careful, there may not be any left to take with you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
Hmmmm...I was pretty disappointed with this one. It's really nothing special, I guess maybe because it has that "boxed" taste with the instant pudding and the Cool Whip. My husband loves any dessert and he thought this one was "just ok". My children didn't care for it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
Wow! Easier than rice krispie treats (which I made at the same time) and everyone LOVED it. I took the advice to use a can of frosting nuked for 45 sec. for the topping. AWESOME recipe-- everyone wanted it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Simple to put together and absolutely delicious. A little messy though, so I wouldn't recommend this if you are looking for something that "looks" good. Excellent chocolate frosting. Definitely needs 24 hours in the fridge before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
Really good recipe. The frosting was my favorite part of it. I took this to a family get together yesterday and everyone really enjoyed it. It is very rich, so a little goes a long way with this one. I'm thinking of making another today, it's that good. Angela
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States