Chocolate Eclair Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I have made this recipe many times. I use French Vanilla pudding which makes it much richer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I loved it and my 12yr neighbor comes back everyday for more. The best compliment was "If we had this at our bake sale we would have made a $1000.00." She now wants me to make this for her birthday!Did not change a thing other than used honey graham crackers..even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
My mother has been making this for 20 + years. I know this is not a "low sugar/fat" site but since I've been trying to maintain weight and am now pre-dibetic I made some very simple changes that do not effect taste hardly at all. Use sugar free pudding, skim milk and in the frosting use Splenda or comparable substitute. I also found low fat graham crackers. Cuts calories and fat WAY down and does not sacrifice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsalle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Moist asked for dessert for our family gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Ive made this for years as well, but always with club crackers...we found that using graham crackers was too sweet for us! Delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sorbello

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Easy and tasty, but the chocolate sauce is tricky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Loved it! But used regular, not chocolate crackers. Also for topping we used: 6 tbsp butter, Two 1 oz squares semi-sweet chocolate, 3 T. milk & 1 ¾ cup confectioner's sugar. Tastes best after sitting in fridge overnight. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Ppl loved it. So easy to make. Also, it's a great way to use up milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I made this twice now, the first time exactly as stated, the second with some of the suggestions. Both were excellent and loved by my kids. I used honey grahams the second time as I am not a big fan of the chocolate ones. Also added a tbsp on vanilla extract to the pudding and substituted a can of condensed milk for some of the regular milk. These two additions help make the pudding taste more home made I think. Would love a holiday version- peppermint filling would go lovely with the chocolate grahams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy Ruiz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This is a great recipe and so easy to make. Every time I make it for potlucks someone asks me to share the recipe. The only thing I do different is add extra melted butter to the frosting. Only using 2 tablespoons make a harder frosting that tends to crack. If you use 4 to 6 tablespoons you will get a softer glaze like you would find on an eclair. I think it tastes better with regular honey grahams crackers over the chocolate ones, but it is good either way. I find that the chocolate graham crackers are sweeter since they are coated with sugar and they tend to get a little mushier than the honey grahams, so the texture is a bit different. Also, let it sit in the refrigerator at least 8 hours for best results. I cannot imagine ever substiting this frosting with the store-bought kind. You must try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States