Chocolate Eclair Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Huge hit with the kids. They couldn't wait unil the next day so the first night we had a crunchy version as the graham crackers had not softened yet. I personally liked it best the next day as it melted in your mouth and tasted like heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
My family loved my "light" version of this recipe. I followed other's suggestions and just microwaved a can of icing in the microwave and poured it on top. I also used regular graham crackers not chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momwholovestocook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I made this pretty much exactly as written, except followed some of the reviewer's advice and used cinnamon graham crackers and french vanilla pudding. Everyone loved it and I would definitely make it again. I did refrigerate 24 hours before serving and the chocolate topping set very nicely. It wasn't messy at all, didn't run so maybe the key is to refrigerate 24 hours or so before serving. Thanks for a great addition to my dessert menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Very simple & great for a sweet chocolate craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
GREAT dessert!!!! The only changes I made to the recipe was I used the honey graham crackers and also used french vanilla pudding. It was so very easy to make and enjoyed every bite! I will be making this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I'd give this 4.5. It was VERY good. I kept licking the bowl. I'd recommend sticking with the recipe for the chocolate sauce. Sure, a can of chocolate frosting would be easier, but it's rather less like an eclair, which is kinda the goal. I made 2 changes. I made my own whipped cream before mixing in the pudding and milk. I also split the cream mixture in half and mixed 2 T of cocoa into one part. I was glad I did that. More chocolatey and more visual interest. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This is a GREAT, easy and quick recipe!! I used sugar free pudding, and regular honey graham crackers. You would never have know I was skimping on sugar. I will use this alot. But be sure to make the choc topping first, and making the whole thing the night before is best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Everyone loved it! I was in a hurry so I did the melted container of frosting for the topping in lieu of making it. Next time I would treat the very bottom layer like a graham cracker crust and mix with some butter and a little sugar abd press, bake and cool; then I would preceed as normal. The bottom unbaked, as-is fell apart for me but was still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEANKNOTTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I gave this three stars because I did not think it tasted at all like a chocolate eclair.. it was still good, just didn't taste anything like an eclair! I followed some other user reviews, and used honey graham crackers and betty crocker chocolate frosting for the topping. This is a nice, light dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.granados

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This is very sweet alittle to sweet! I used regular cracker. I like next time i make this ill drizzle the chocolate on top not use so much and also Im gonna try using bannana pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystle_Tollett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States