Chocolate Eclair Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I was asked to bring a dessert to a potluck, and as I was browsing through AR, I stumbled across this recipe. Based on the reviews and gorgeous pix, I decided to give this a shot - and boy, I absolutely do not regret it. I was short of time, and didn't quite get to allow it to set overnight (although I did manage to give it about 10 hours to sit, to speed up the process, I put it for 2 hours in the fridge, then pushed them into the freezer and shifted them back into the fridge about 2 hours before serving). I didn't have graham crackers on hand, so I used digestive biscuits instead. I took the advise of another reviewer and dunked each biscuit into milk (to soften the cookie) before using it in the cake layer. I used Jello French Vanilla Pudding and decided against using 16oz of cool whip - instead, I chose to keep the cool whip down to 8oz (IMHO, 8oz is just perfect). Warming the frosting before pouring it over the layered cake is a genius idea. This dessert iz a breeze to make - and it was devoured in no time! Thank you for sharing this recipe with us! This one's definitely a keeper! P.S: Next time, I'm gonna try dunking the biscuits in coffee to give it a tiramisu twist! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Pitts
Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I love this recipe, so glad to find it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
What an easy delicious dessert. It's not fancy at all just really good. The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
i made this in home ec in middle school and it was so amazing i went and looked it up asap 4 years later i still think its amazing but i prefer it without the frosting because im not a big chocolate fan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Danielle Franklin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Northport, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This recipe is super simple and so delicious! Instead of using frosting, I melted Nutella and used that to top my cake. TO DIE FOR!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Super easy and my kids love this . Would not change a thing about it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This was really good and really easy. I used only 3 cups of milk, per the comments of others, but next time I'll use the full 4 cups (my pan was plenty deep). I also used 160z light cool whip. I took this to an Army Christmas party and apparently it was a hit because the pan got cleaned out. I will definitely make this again, probably sooner rather than later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMM2000

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This was pretty okay. What I didnt like was that Icey texture in the pudding and whip topping.Next time I'm going to try regular vanilla ice cream mixed with the whip topping. I def will make it again though because it was easy and you can keep it in the freezer for whenever you wanted a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Absolutely Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States