Chocolate Earthquake Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Be aware, this can spill over the sides of the cake pan and make a smokey mess of the oven. But it is a delicious sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This cake was awesome, so moist, rich and ooey gooey good, but I only used HALF of the cream cheese mixture. I cut the cream cheese block in half, stick of butter in half and half lb of powdered sugar. I also used walnuts instead of pecans. I'll be making this for a long time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Simply Marvelous! A big Hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This cake is delicious. I would make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I made this tonight because I had a cake mix, a bar of cream cheese and some coconut. It went together easily and I had high hopes. Unfortunately, the recipe directions were inadequate and I acted impulsively, not taking the time to read all of the reviews. Judging from the recipe photo, I assumed one would need to turn this cake out of the pan. Well, the cake bears no resemblance to the photo. The directions do not specify how long to cool the cake, if/when to de-pan it, etc. I made an educated guess (I've been baking for 30+ years) and it was a mistake. I now have a pile of rubble and a mess on my counter. I did taste it and it's rich and delicious but I'm so relieved that I didn't make this for anything important. I'm sure it would be great if we just had explicit instructions. I'll give it another shot if the recipe is amended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I loved this cake. I don't use cake mixes so I followed the recipe for devil's food cake I from this site. It was a lot of work and a lot of dishes, but the end result was worth it. I did layer the cream cheese mixture with the cake as other reviewers suggested, but my filling seemed to fall to the bottom of the cake. Maybe because I did not use a box cake mix. Next time I think I will reserve one cup of the cake mix, spoon over the cream cheese mixture and spoon over the reserved cake mix ontop of it. The only changes I made to this recipe was to decrease butter qty by about half and decrease the confectioners sugar to 1 1/2 cps. I can't wait to make this cake again. Next time I will try it with my brownie recipe or crazy cake recie from this site. Tastes great warm, even better when cooled, and even better chilled in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by globetrotter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I made the cake as instructed except I used the suggestion to layer the chocolate and cream cheese. The cake turned out very moist and delicious. It reminded me of a german chocolate cake with the coconut and pecans. Next time I would cut back the amout of pecans, since I am not too big of a fan of nuts in desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I also put 1/2 of the cake down, then the cream cheese and then cake on top and baked at 350. It turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States