Chocolate Earthquake Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
This is one of my favorite desserts. My family/friends love this cake and I have often been offered $$ to bake it for them. I spoon the cream cheese mixture using a tsp over the batter so that it will sink into the batter as it bakes, forming delicious treat inside. It does normally take about 50-60 minutes to bake. Also, instead of pecans, walnuts seems to stand up better to the cake and cream cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
This was really good. I made this for my mom's birthday because i thought it would be more like a cake, but it actually turned out to look sort like a bar/brownie recipe. My mom and my sister liked it. GOOD RECIPE!!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
You really can't go wrong with cream cheese and a cube of butter with chocolate cake...I didn't add the coconut or the walnuts and it was delicious. I also didn't find it necessary to use 4 cups of powdered sugar- I used 2, tasted it, it was plenty sweet and it turned out great. Fun alternative to plain chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRIELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I am in LOVE with this cake! This is HEAVEN! I have to take this cake to work so I don't eat the whole 9x13 pan myself! Thank-you thank-you thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
Delicious! I won a company bake-off awhile back with this recipe. The extra bake time (~10min) is right on par. Don't expect to have much left over if you serve this to company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyn Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Made this cake, it was wonderful, took three slices out and company came wiped out the rest out. I want to thank the other reviews for the 10 min. longer baking tip. I cooked it for the 52 min. and it was perfect. absolutely perfect.. Now I find myself having to print out a dozen recipes to pass out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
a nice surprise! easy and sinfully yummy. i sprinkled powdered sugar over the top (had to spruce it up a little, it was for a birthday cake) and just about all the lil kiddos vacuumed this up! quick to throw together, too. i baked it for about 10 minutes past the stated time... it was still sticky but not wobbly-wet in the middle anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
Excellent Dessert.Very easy to make.Very moist.Recieved rave reviews from my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
A yummy cake, but the baking time is off. I took the cake out after 50 minutes expecting the middle to "set up" as the recipe indicates. Mine did not. Thankfully, as moist as the cake is, I was able to return it to the oven even after it cooled for 20 minutes and it was fine. Still gooey!! I followed the recipe exactly and I'm a seasoned cook, so I'm not sure what happened. If the submitter reads this, please respond with any tips as the cake is sinfully delicious and I would like to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2001
This has become a family favorite and I make it a great deal--everyone asks for the reciepe and it has become my trademark cake along with cheesecakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States