Chocolate Earthquake Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
It looks ugly, but tastes soooooooooooooo good!I did add an extra 8-oz. of cream cheese...it cut down the sweetness of the frosting a little and gave it a little more cream cheese taste (I love cream cheese!)I think the frosting is what makes the cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Hi :) Every year my family and I have a tradition that all the women in the family contribute a dessert to the Thanksgiving table and this year I choose this cake simply because I thought it'd add a little edge to our clean-cut regular desserts. To be honest, I was a bit worried when I was beginning to bake this---the layers looked beautiful but as time went on there was a certain chaos in my oven! It overflowed a bit and I had to cook it for a little bit longer than the time reccomended to get the middle nice and done. Overall it was delicious! It was very messy and looked rather exciting and unusual but in the end it really was the talk of the night. It even tasted just as good the morning after with some coffee. MM MMM MMMMMM I'll definately be making this again! Thank you xoxo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This cake was a big hit and it was so easy to make, that's always a winning combination easy and yummy! It's one of the ugliest cakes I've ever baked but I guess that's why it's called an earthquake cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
This was a magnitude, 8.5! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This was a huge hit with my guests! It looks neat and tastes great. I had this, a pinapple upside down cake, and a store-bought yellow cake on the dessert table, and everyone went for this. The only thing I didn't know was if I was supposed to invert the cake onto a platter, but I assume the whole point of the cake is to keep the "earthquake" side up. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Made this for my husband for his birthday. Wow what a great cake!! Decreased powdered sugar to about 3 cups and added 10 minutes to bake time per other reviewers and was perfect! Thanks for a great and easy dessert recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Excellent! I found it difficult to get even coverage of the icing, but it worked out great. I used a mix of walnuts and hazelnuts and reduced the sugar to 2.5 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
A*M*A*Z*I*N*G ... and even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whodouluv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Fantastic! My boyfriend begs me to make this constantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This was the coolest looking cake! We loved it. Next time I will not add coconut or nuts, but love everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States