Chocolate Earthquake Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
As cakes go, this is at the top of MY RICHTER scale!!! I used 3 cups of the powdered sugar and after I dropped the cream cheese mixture by spoonfuls into the cake, I gently ran a knife through the batter (being careful not to insert it too deep)to create a marbled effect. It does require a little longer baking time than instructed. 50 minutes worked perfectly for me. GREAT RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ada Cowan-Ruhlen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This is a great recipe!! But beware..it is very rich and a definate risk to your waistline!! I ended up taking it to work to share with co-workers. If it had remained in my house I would have eaten it all!! LOL I followed the recipe exactly, and had no problems with the baking time..This recipe is a definate keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I was waiting for my husband in a book store when I caught sight of a German cookbook. I flipped through it and found this recipe in the dessert section...there it was simply called German Chocolate Cake. I didn't buy the book but wrote out the recipe, bought the ingredients and made it for my family that weekend. It was and always has been a hit! The only thing is the men in the family don't like coconut so I leave it out and increase the pecans a little and 31/2 cups of icing sugar seems perfect, to each their own. I've been asked for this recipe when I've brought it to pot lucks or served to friends. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East St. Paul, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shezzza
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I only used 2 cups confectioners' sugar in the filling this was plenty sweet enough! I also added a teaspoon of coconut extract into the filling which brought out the flavor of the coconut in the cake. I gave it four stars because of the 4 cups confectioners' sugar but if you cut it back then I would say it's five stars. It sure didn't last long in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shezzza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I do not know what I did wrong with this cake. I followed another reviewers tips on making it in a bundt cake, and reducing the butter and sugar a bit. I even cooked it 10 minutes longer, and it seems it turned out half-cooked. The top of the cake looked done and we were really excited about eating it. When it was turned over, the bottom half of the cake was all liquid. I expected messy, but not uncooked. It was still edible in the area that was cooked, but quite a disappointment for what I expected after these reviews. I'll try it in a 9x13 next time, and if it doesn't work, I won't do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girlmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This is the same recipe my aunt uses, except she goes with a richer, fudge cake mix. I prefer the fudgey richess over german chocolate, but this is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPOOKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
i made this tasty treat as a birthday cake for my mother. a few modifications included substituting pecans for the walnuts (any german chocolate cake we've ever eaten had pecans in it & we're german), cutting back the butter & cream cheese to 7 T. & 7 oz. & only using 3 cups powdered sugar. this was in effort to trim the calorie count. i also baked our earthquake cake for 45 minutes in a bundt pan then inverted it when almost cool. very good as is or ala mode. thanks kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I made this cake for Easter. It was so AWESOME.... I totally recommend it. It is so gooey and delicious my whole family loved it. Whoever invented this cake is a genius!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Wow, is this cake rich! I made this for my husband's son's birthday. He did not want the coconut or pecans, and we added a cup of dark chocolate chips to the cream cheese mixture. It has a very good taste, but I think, as some of the other reviews suggested, I'll use less sugar next time and perhaps another 3 oz of cream cheese, also. The taste is very good, and I think this one has definite possibilities for future experiments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Not made to wow your guests by its looks...but my family died over the taste of this thing. Making it right now again for a family gathering. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States