Chocolate Earthquake Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
YUM!!! Made this cake for a church gathering and had several requests for the recipe. Only thing I changed was using pecans instead of walnuts because I'm not a fan of walnuts! Otherwise made exactly as directed and turned out perfectly. Baked for 50+ minutes like others suggested and it was definitely done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M&K's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I made a german chocolate cake from the Fanny Farmer Cookbok in lieu of the cake mix and it turned out excellent. I highly recommend the extra work of creating the "cake" from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I made this cake for work and everyone loved it. I had at least three people ask for the recipe. It was so easy to make. I will definitely try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Very good cake. My mother makes the same cake but it has different name "Chocolate Delight Slap Your Momma Cake" her friend in Florida gave her the recipe. The cooking time was accurate any longer and the cake would have burned. The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kljbaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
The best cake ever!!, next time I am going to double the cream cheese.. yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Holladay, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Delicious! I used a mixer to mix the melted butter, cream cheese and conf sugar, then dropped by small spoonfuls all over cake. Also took others advise and cooked for 50 minutes. Will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
WOW! thats all i got to say. So good, so yummy and so easy. I will be making this at least once a month, good good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBiotch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Really yummy cake recipe. It was a little mushy in the middle of the cake so will need to add some more time on if I make it again. The parts that were cooked through were tasty though. I found it to be even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I didn't have german chocolate mix so I used white and added a box of instant chocolate pudding plus 1/2 cup of unsweetend cocoa and added and extra egg and an extra 1/2 cup of water to the cake recipe. OH MY GOSH!!! It was soooo goooood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovethissite
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
My husband was in the mood for chocolate cake and cream cheese - so I searched and found this. It was awesome. It is messy and isn't necessarily beautiful looking. I doubled the cream cheese as suggested by another reviewer and I think this made it a little less sweet - which was a good thing otherwise we would have only been able to eat a sliver in one sitting. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethissite

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States