Chocolate Earthquake Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This is very good!!!!!! Got a lot of compliments at pot luck lunch on it. Might use more cream cheese next time to break the sweetness just a tad. Might even try without nuts and coconut (my son doesn't like either).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STRAWBERRY02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I made this for a party and everyone went nuts for it. The only thing I did different was I used the whole package of coconut (7oz) and 1.5 cups of chopped walnuts. I cooked it for 55 minutes and it turned out perfect. I will make this cake often thanks so much for the wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millbury, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brownwood, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
It was just mouth watering. its very messy but i guess it was worth it. I added a little whipped cream and viola. It came out just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This recipe is better using a fudge cake mix rather than a german chocolate cake mix. I put the cream cheese filling in a gallon zip lock bag, snip the corner off, and pipe the filling all over the cake batter. It comes out more uniform this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This is great. I was looking for something to make for a birthday when I knew I would not have time to frost something before we went out. I looked this up at work, went to the store, put it together and put it in the oven. I actually left the house with it hot. I love something that does not need to be frosted. Everytime I make it, it comes out different and usually takes longer then 50 minutes. Sometimes it all just sinks to the bottom but still tastes great. I have started using a dark chocolate fudge cake mix instead of German chocolate. My sister in law loved it on her birthday and now makes it for all kinds of things. She also makes it in cupcake form and has dyed the cream part red on halloween to imply something gruesome. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Gosse

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Grayson, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Great cake! My friends and my husband loved it alot! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Very tasty and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I made this cake for the first time on Mother's Day. It is a chocolate lovers delight. Brought the leftoevers to work.Everyone enjoyed it. The only criticism I have is what many others say...frosting is too sweet..would put less confectioners sugar in it. HOWEVER, I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
WOW this was awesome ~ My husband let me know that this is now his birthday cake it was so good ! I didn't have oil on hand and used applesauce in its place and it was still yummy just increased the time by 10 min..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States