Chocolate Earthquake Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by msr
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
It was very difficult to sit there and watch this beauty bake, it was just so tempting. I cut the sugar in half, as others suggested and also swirled the cream cheese/butter/sugar mixture through the chocolate. I might consider dusting my bundt pan for this one next time, as just a few bits stuck to the pan (although I did enjoy eating those). Really a wonderful cake. Can't wait to share it with others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I took Sheeza's advice and only used two cups of conf. sugar (more than enough sugar). I also used a bundt cake pan, as she did. I dusted with confectioners sugar which made a great presentation. And by the way, this is a great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
rose too high in 9x13 pan hopefully a bundt pan will work better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I have been making this cake for a while. My variation: mix the coconut and almond slivers in with the cream cheese mix, drop by spoonfulls onto batter in pan then swirl w/knife. I also cut down the sugar in half. If you use a dark chocolate mix, it has the taste of an Almond Joy candy bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Absolutely delicious, my husband and I ate a piece of this cake every night until it was gone! The only thing I changed was that I only used 2 cups of the powdered sugar, and I used devil's food cake mix. The next time I think that I will try this recipe using lemon cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakesnthings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
the taste was great but it did not go down into the cake maybe i did some thing wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
So good it's BAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I used the dark chocolate cake mix instead and I made this without the coconut and it was still mighty irresistible and VERY moist. We prefer the dark chocolate cake mix. This is a keeper recipe and very rich. A little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Not a bad cake, and def. not the best cake either. Dont think I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dee_dollface
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
WOW this was DELISH! I altered the recipe, for one I don't care much for coconut in anything, and I only had regular chocolate cake mix...so I made it with regular chocolate cake mix, no nuts or coconut...and only used 3 cups of the confectioners' sugar....and I'm glad I did...it was still a little too sweet for my taste...next time I will do only 2 cups of confectioners' sugar and add 8 more ounces of the cream cheese for a more cheese cake taste...oh and It took 50 minutes in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States