Chocolate Earthquake Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Sorry but I thought this cake was terrible. The confectioners’ sugar was overkill. It may be better if the XXX sugar was cut down by half but I don’t even want to try it again. A waste of time and cream cheese. It took way longer than 40 minutes to cook. More like 1 ½ hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This is VERY good - a package of coconut is twice the called for amount but used most of it. Took this to a party & many people did not like coconut so be aware. My cake batter & "icing" were both very thick & icing did not sink but cake was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Santa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
If you want to know what it is like, it is like making a German chocolate cake and the frosting ends up on the bottom of the pan. Was not messy in my opinion. I only used around 3 c of sugar. Had to bake for 50 min or so b/c it was really jiggly yet at 42. Easy to make, really yummy! Got rave reviews when I took it to someone's house for dinner. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Followed the recipe but kept it in the oven for 45 min. Served a la mode and it was sinful!!! Everyone wanted the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Excellent. Easier alternative to the traditional German Chocolate cake. Did take other reviewer's advice and swirled the icing mix in with a knife after dropping by tablespoons into batter. Also used less sugar as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
One of the best cakes around! Big hit at a Thanksgiving party. Changed nothing in the ingredients. Took others advise and baked for 50 mins. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Used lemon cake and almonds. Delicious and can use whatever you have on hand. Wasn't sure it was done but it was, the icing sugar turns into a glaze making it appear raw. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Absolutely unbelievable! I used a bundt cake pan and followed directions EXACTLY and prepared the cake mix using: four eggs, 3/4 cup oil and 3/4 milk. The cake looked beautiful while baking and perfect when I took it out of the oven. After about 10 minutes, it looked like it was starting to cave in. I left it in the pan for about five hours and when I flipped it out, it was gorgeous! The taste of this cake is like no other ... I will be making this recipe for all special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayceeP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I used a coconut cake mix, and substituted pecans for walnuts. More like an Italian Cream Earthquake cake. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Very good. So moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States