Chocolate Earthquake Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Sorry but I thought this cake was terrible. The confectioners’ sugar was overkill. It may be better if the XXX sugar was cut down by half but I don’t even want to try it again. A waste of time and cream cheese. It took way longer than 40 minutes to cook. More like 1 ½ hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This is VERY good - a package of coconut is twice the called for amount but used most of it. Took this to a party & many people did not like coconut so be aware. My cake batter & "icing" were both very thick & icing did not sink but cake was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Santa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
If you want to know what it is like, it is like making a German chocolate cake and the frosting ends up on the bottom of the pan. Was not messy in my opinion. I only used around 3 c of sugar. Had to bake for 50 min or so b/c it was really jiggly yet at 42. Easy to make, really yummy! Got rave reviews when I took it to someone's house for dinner. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Followed the recipe but kept it in the oven for 45 min. Served a la mode and it was sinful!!! Everyone wanted the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Excellent. Easier alternative to the traditional German Chocolate cake. Did take other reviewer's advice and swirled the icing mix in with a knife after dropping by tablespoons into batter. Also used less sugar as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
One of the best cakes around! Big hit at a Thanksgiving party. Changed nothing in the ingredients. Took others advise and baked for 50 mins. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Used lemon cake and almonds. Delicious and can use whatever you have on hand. Wasn't sure it was done but it was, the icing sugar turns into a glaze making it appear raw. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Absolutely unbelievable! I used a bundt cake pan and followed directions EXACTLY and prepared the cake mix using: four eggs, 3/4 cup oil and 3/4 milk. The cake looked beautiful while baking and perfect when I took it out of the oven. After about 10 minutes, it looked like it was starting to cave in. I left it in the pan for about five hours and when I flipped it out, it was gorgeous! The taste of this cake is like no other ... I will be making this recipe for all special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayceeP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I used a coconut cake mix, and substituted pecans for walnuts. More like an Italian Cream Earthquake cake. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Very good. So moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States