Chocolate Earl Grey Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I made these to fill a super chocolate + earl grey tea craving I'd been having. There's a coffee shop where I used to live that made a blended drink incorporating these two things, & then my friend from the UK sent me Belgian dark chocolate with earl grey in it. It was lovely. But I needed some more. These cookies certainly filled my craving. The tea was noticeable and enjoyable. The texture of the cookie is pleasant - nice and soft. I agree with another reviewer that the cookie is brownie like. I shared these with my husbands' fellow graduate students and even the picky ones liked them. I will make again, but I will use more tea and super dark chocolate (just my preference - these were excellent as is).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma_jane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greeley, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
These were quick, easy, and really tasty. Tastes more like a brownie than a cookie. The batter was really thick, which at first worried me, but they came out beautifully. Do not look like the picture, which was confusing. They look more like the #3 picture. I am definitely making them again. Go really good with the tea they were named after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Good and tasty. I don't find them moist but they are fluffy and have a nice taste of earl gray. However by the next day they are very dry and I'm not caring for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
These are so excellent. Really, they're a thing I often long for now. I put in a bit more tea than called for, but that's just a matter of taste. What great little tea cakes they would make; they are actually more of a cake than biscuit, arn' they ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
these. are. amazing. i brought them to a party and they were INHALED. cannot wait for an excuse to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliet Whiskey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
These were nice! Had a different taste than the cookies I normally have around since they're more spicy than sweet and sugary tasting. I'd probably make these again, just to change things up from what I normally bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This was a tasty, unusual cookie. However, the texture is so much like cake that I think I will make it as a brownie or even cupcakes next time. I used Twinning's loose Earl Grey, which I ground finely in my thoroughly-cleaned coffee grinder. The flavor keeps well and even my super picky husband liked these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
If you like extremely cakey cookies, these are for you. I up-ed the tea bag count to nine (3 Earl Greys, 3 Lady Greys, 1 Indian Spice Chai, and 2 decaff supermarket brand Earl Greys) and it wasn't too strong. Like one of the reviewers said, I sprinkled decorative sugar on top for presentation's sake - that was good advice since these cookies aren't really pretty given their color and shapelessness. The flavor is unique, and makes for a good candidate to add variety to a cookie box gift, but I don't think I'd recommend them for shipping because they are so soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tofugirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I made only a half batch. I thought that the bergamot flavor was quite strong- these are definitely cookies for a tea lover. I also rolled them into balls, and baked for 8 min. They were soft and cakey. Maybe I'm really sensitive to caffeine, but I sure could feel the effects after eating only 2 of them- next time I will use decaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Absolutely wonderful! Instead of dropping onto the cookie sheet, I rolled the dough into small balls and then pressed slightly. Then topped with decorative sugar. Lovely! Don't cook more than 8 minutes. Perfect, dense, cake-like cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristinaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States