Chocolate Drop Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2001
So delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin
Living In: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
I was dissapointed.The cookies were quite a lot of work for cookies, and they tasted- dull. Perhaps they need more sugar. The dough expands a lot while in the oven, so give them space. Also, they end up flat and crispy- not what I was looking for. I used mini marshmallows at first, and then big marshmallow halves- either works. The frosting is good. I doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I did the cookie part of this only- not the marshmallows or frosting. I frosted them with leftover frosting from "Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting" from this site. GREAT combo! The delicate white chocolate/orange flavor of that frosting really compliments the rich chocolate taste of these cookies. The cookies are nice, soft, chewy and delicious. I know they'd be great with marshmallows/chocolate frosting too. I used half whole wheat pastry flour and 1/3 cup brown sugar in place of some of the white. The dough is very soft, and the cookies puff up in the oven and get a little flat when you take them out. I got 23 cookies out of this recipe using my Pampered Chef cookie scoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I did about a 1" round scoop for each cookie and they turned out perfect. They were soft and yummy. I only made the cookie dough and used DARK cocoa powder and added white chocolate chips! They were VERY good this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I loved these cookies :D they were tedius but it was worth it.. the only thing i would change would be the icing it was kindof rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Wow these cookies are great. Much better than I was expecting. The icing is AMAZING. Only change was using butter which caused the cookies to spread very thin but i like crispy so i just love these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABBIEA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
The cookie is good, but the icing did not turn out well. It was way too dry, even after adding more butter and cream. What a mess, trying to ice on top of the marshmallow! I will skip the marshmallow next time,and use a traditional fudge icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DarcieA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
My husband describes these as "addictive!" I didn't have margarine on hand, so I substituted butter. The cookies came out perfectly soft. Next time, I do plan to use small marshmellows instead of going thru the trouble of cutting the large ones in half. For me, the frosting was too thick to spread as written. So, I just added more heavy cream until I got the texture I liked. These are RICH and satisfy the choc-o-holic in me! We will keep this recipe- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
These cookies are truly delicious and very rich. Great with a glass of milk! I made one major change: Used butter. I also had to add more liquid to the icing. The icing is so creamy and tasty! I think I'll use it again! My only complaint is the cooking time- mine were undercooked, and you really can't tell because of the color of the cookie if they're cooked or not. The end result was a bit soft- like they fall apart when handled. Although this could be because of the butter? I didn't have any troubles icing them, found it quite easy. All in all a great tasting cookie. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Loved it! A chocolate lover's dream! The only complaint I have was that it didn't make enough cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States