Chocolate Drop Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Delicious! I made them without the frosting. The only other change I made was that when I took them out to put the marshmallows on, they seemed like they were very close to done, so I put them back in the oven for one minute instead of two so they wouldn't get overcooked or too dried out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Just made these cookies for the Holidays. First the columns need to be marked as cookie and frosting for those of us not so savvy. Anyhow..I substituted marshmallows for the Candy Cane kisses..and no frosting!!! Pretty and Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
On its own, the cookie was just ok. I didn't make the frosting as is (no heavy cream on hand), but a simple chocolate glaze helped a lot. I was only able to get about 18 2" cookies out of this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dagwood17

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
These were a great addition to our cookie tray! I will use small mrshmllws next time as I wound up cutting the big ones into 1/4 size so it was easier to ice over. The icing was very dry & did not come together with the msrments listed so I just added more cream to get the right consistency. It turned out great! I used Hershey's cocoa and a 1in scoop and cooked at times listed. They came out soft but firm enough to hold up. The kids & I agree that the batter tastes like brownies and the finished cookie was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Loved it! A chocolate lover's dream! The only complaint I have was that it didn't make enough cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
These cookies are truly delicious and very rich. Great with a glass of milk! I made one major change: Used butter. I also had to add more liquid to the icing. The icing is so creamy and tasty! I think I'll use it again! My only complaint is the cooking time- mine were undercooked, and you really can't tell because of the color of the cookie if they're cooked or not. The end result was a bit soft- like they fall apart when handled. Although this could be because of the butter? I didn't have any troubles icing them, found it quite easy. All in all a great tasting cookie. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Photo by DarcieA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
My husband describes these as "addictive!" I didn't have margarine on hand, so I substituted butter. The cookies came out perfectly soft. Next time, I do plan to use small marshmellows instead of going thru the trouble of cutting the large ones in half. For me, the frosting was too thick to spread as written. So, I just added more heavy cream until I got the texture I liked. These are RICH and satisfy the choc-o-holic in me! We will keep this recipe- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
The cookie is good, but the icing did not turn out well. It was way too dry, even after adding more butter and cream. What a mess, trying to ice on top of the marshmallow! I will skip the marshmallow next time,and use a traditional fudge icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Wow these cookies are great. Much better than I was expecting. The icing is AMAZING. Only change was using butter which caused the cookies to spread very thin but i like crispy so i just love these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABBIEA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I loved these cookies :D they were tedius but it was worth it.. the only thing i would change would be the icing it was kindof rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States