Chocolate Dipped Orange Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I made one batch using a mixer and it required about 1/2 cup more flour. Then I mixed one by hand, and 1 cup of flour was enough. I think that might explain why some people think the recipe is perfect and others have problems. One batch with cranberries and white chocolate, one batch as written: the perfect gift for my mother-in-law. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
As I put this together, I could see there was definitly something wrong with the quantity of flour. There is no way this will produce a smooth ball of dough as written. More flour is definitly needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Perfect combo of flavors! One of my personal favorites. (warning if you are going to add the rind of one whole orange bake for longer)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Good stuff. I added 1/2 cup more flour,ommitted the orange extract, and instead added some vanilla and almond extract. I added kahlua, a Tablespoon of heavy cream, and a Tablespoon of instant coffee mix to the chocolate while it melted over the double broiler. Super easy recipe and GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Totaly Smert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
super easy ... healthier without butter that is in most recipes. served it for my future DIL's wedding shower ... a BIG hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I baked these and they came out looking kind of funky and tasting kind of okay. I probably won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I was so excited to make this and was VERY disappointed at the outcome! I have made many kinds of biscotti before and never have any come out bad until these. First of all, only 10 were made from the little amount of dough. Second, they were like rocks and had hardly any flavor after I spent so much time baking them. I threw them out I was so frustrated and no one wanted to eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Quantities are too small, and I realized I was to get just a handful of biscotti after I started! I suggest doubling quantities (at least!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
These were good but I didn't like the chocolate on them. Next time I'm going to take the advice of others and add vanilla and omit the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Thanks for this great recipe. We like it best plain with just almonds and 1 tsp vanilla. The other change I made to the recipe is 1/2 tsp baking powder and no baking soda and it has a way better flavour. I also cut it thinner, about 1/2 inch slices on the diagonal. It lasts really well - I've even mailed it to my son in Serbia. He calls it "Mum's world famous biscotti."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States