Chocolate Dipped Bing Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
These are pretty good, but I didn't really taste the vanilla, and the dark chocolate overpowered the cherry flavor (I suspect I used more chocolate than recommended since I spooned the chocolate over the cherries instead of dipping them). DH loves them (he's a big fan of dark chocolate). I used Hershey's Special Dark chocolate chips (no chopping involved!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Pretty and delicious! I made these with a combination of Bing and Rainier cherries. Pitting the cherries without wrecking them is kind of a pain in the tail, so I only made about a dozen. I'd like to try this again with different extracts too. Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Verry yummy!! Mine were not so pretty as I had trouble pitting them lol but they are delicious and thats what really matters. I made a dozen with vanilla and a dozen with cherry flavoring both are quite tasty! Thx for the recipe =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Pitting the cherries are serious work. With that being said,they taste good and look pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Love how simple this recipe is to make and its done without high fructose corn syrup and other preservatives. Most difficult part was pitting the cherries. I found that slicing in X in the bottom of the cherry then gently squeezing out the seed to be the easiest and quickest method. You may want to wear gloves because the juice will stain your cuticles. I did half with vanilla extract and half with cherry extract to bring out the cherry flavor. Just go easy on the cherry extract...too much will give it a cough syrup flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
After reading the reviews about the difficulty in pitting the cherries, I decided to simply melt chocolate and dip the cherries in them, skipping the whole sugar and vanilla extract part. They tasted great! I used milk chocolate on half and then tried semi-sweet on the other half. I liked the milk chocolate better while my boyfriend liked both equally. Yes, you do have to spit out the pit this way, but it wasn't a big deal for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Amazing flavor, but the juice kept dripping out of the bottom of my cherries and seizing my chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
AWESOME! Love dark chocolate, so did our in all dark. I did not pit. No biggie. I put each cherry into an ice cube tray & poured chocolate onto the cherry then put in refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Ultimate Chocolate Dessert

See the easy way to make a rich, creamy, no-bake chocolate dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States