Chocolate Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I had leftover cake and thought I would try this. the mixed reviews made me hold off on the coffee liqueur. It was ok. Not nearly as good as using brownie, which I normally do. Any added liquid would have made this a mess. The cake stayed plenty moist but the flavor wasn't as good as the version I do with the brownie and coffee liqueur. Will probably stick to that one since I think it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I had a dinner party last night and served this as dessert. I made it with a brownie mix, as someone suggested. Everyone raved, one man even asked for the recipe! Truly a winner. Thanks Renee for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarion, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I found this recipe to be average at best. The coffee liqueur ruined it in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I've been making this for years, have used brownies instead of chocolate cake and strong coffee. We love this dessert, very pretty in a trifle bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Mannington, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I've made this recipe for years (less milk though) and it does keep very well for a couple of days if you don't soak the cake in alcohol. We don't drink so there's no extra fluid in the cake. That's what makes it soupy. So just don't put the liquid in and it will keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this recipe after my Bundt cake got stuck in the pan and crumbled on its way out. Rather than throw it out, I decided to make this for my kids. I did not use the liqueur, and used peanut butter cups instead of toffee bars, just trying to use what I already had on hand. Kids loved it, and I managed to sneak a few bites while they weren't looking. Great way to use up a cake that doesn't turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Made this for my son's birthday and it was gone in two days. Very easy and fun to make. If you like a lot of sweetness and a lot of chocolate, this is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made four servings of this wonderful dessert for myself and my boyfriend for our anniversary. I ate one but my boyfriend said he was too full to eat dessert that night. But...when I woke up the next morning the other three glasses were sitting empty on our coffee table! Ha. He still begs me to make more! So ladies never forget the way to a mans heart is ALWAYS through his stomach..and chocolate is best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This was a huge hit at a BBQ that we went to. I followed others advice and used dark chocolate mouse instead of pudding and Betty Crocker Fudge Brownie mix instead of cake. There were children at the BBQ so I wasn't comfortable using the alcohol. I bought a coffee flavored Starbucks Frappacino out of the refridgerated section at the store. I did not use a whole cup (it would have been way too much), after I cut the brownie up into bite size pieces I poured the cofee over the brownies and stirred it together until it was moist and the brownies stopped soaking up the liquid. The coffee flavor was suttle and not overpowering. I also used the creamy Cool Whip instead of regular. It turned out fantastic and I made it again later that week for a office birthday celebration. We will definately be making this again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I made this for Christmas 2009 and it was delicious. You definitely need a large trifle bowl. What was leftover held up very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manistee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bear Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States