Chocolate Decadence Yule Log Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This was awesome! I decided to fill the cake with all the frosting since it was a "to go" dessert~traveled well this way. The next time I made it I added Razzamatazz~cheaper then Chambord~instead of coffee liquior~turned out great. I might also just make a cream cheese filling like I do for my pumpkin rolls and sprinkle crushed peppermint candies over the cream cheese before rerolling! Or add cream de menthe and add the candies. The combinations are endless! Thanks for a great recipe :) I love the "wow" responses!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
The instructions are clear and the taste devine. I recommend Starbucks Coffee Liquor! A new holiday favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This recipe was excellent. A couple of additions I made, first, I added chocolate sauce on top of the cake prior to rolling and second instead of using the frosting inside of the cake, I put whipped heavy cream on top of the chocolate sauce and then rolled it and placed the frosting on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marcellus, New York, USA
Living In: Harrison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Very good! Looked sooo pretty. I used brewed coffee instead of coffee liqueur, and it still had a lovely flavor. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Moyle Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
excellent! I've been playing with different fillings but it tastes great and lookd good. I found (by accident) thatyou can get a more realistic bark look if you do the final frosting touches with your fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Made this yesterday: easy and delicious!! A few tips: To prevent the cake from breaking/cracking, you need to roll it up in the cloth IMMEDIATELY after taking it out of the oven! Also, the more you whip your eggs (I used a stand mixer on high for ~5 minutes), the lighter and fluffier your cake will be. I used a recipe for chocolate silk frosting instead (from good housekeeping), so it wasn't as sweet as the cream cheese would have been... which I think was the right choice! It actually got better the next day--the frosting kept the cake nice and moist, and after a night in the fridge the flavors were really well blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Simple, savory and sweet! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Crabtree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wynne, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
All I can say is "WOW!" I made this for our Christmas Day dinner, and it knocked people out! Chocolaty and creamy, truly decadent! (I garnished with the Meringue Mushrooms from this site, also a "keeper" recipe."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLA IN BETHANY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snowyclouds
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Great recipe! I used chocolate ganash for the frosting because I like th bark look better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Perfect ratios and the directions are great. I have made other yule logs in the past, but this is the recipe I will use from now on. I made 2 smaller "logs" so the cooking time was shorter, but if you follow the directions, it will roll perfectly. Also because I did the two smaller logs I had to make more frosting...not that I minded licking the beaters :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States