Chocolate Decadence Yule Log Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Made this yesterday: easy and delicious!! A few tips: To prevent the cake from breaking/cracking, you need to roll it up in the cloth IMMEDIATELY after taking it out of the oven! Also, the more you whip your eggs (I used a stand mixer on high for ~5 minutes), the lighter and fluffier your cake will be. I used a recipe for chocolate silk frosting instead (from good housekeeping), so it wasn't as sweet as the cream cheese would have been... which I think was the right choice! It actually got better the next day--the frosting kept the cake nice and moist, and after a night in the fridge the flavors were really well blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2002
Although I was pretty happy with the overall taste of this dessert and it got rave reviews, I probably won't make it again for a long time. The rolling part of the cake was very difficult and my "log" ended up looking rather beat up. However, the frosting covered it up enough to make it look presentable and all of my friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This was exactly what I've been looking for for years. We traditionnally have a buche (or yule log) for Christmas, and I've tried many recipes before I reached what I was expecting with this one. It is so easy too. It took me less than one hour to have this one ready on my serving plate (if not for refrigeration time, of course). I used Bailey's as coffee liqueur, and its taste came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This was awesome! I decided to fill the cake with all the frosting since it was a "to go" dessert~traveled well this way. The next time I made it I added Razzamatazz~cheaper then Chambord~instead of coffee liquior~turned out great. I might also just make a cream cheese filling like I do for my pumpkin rolls and sprinkle crushed peppermint candies over the cream cheese before rerolling! Or add cream de menthe and add the candies. The combinations are endless! Thanks for a great recipe :) I love the "wow" responses!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
Just use cream or butter cream and have a really good yule log you can enjoy,keep the cream cheese for bagels and cheese cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Very good! Looked sooo pretty. I used brewed coffee instead of coffee liqueur, and it still had a lovely flavor. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Moyle Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
All I can say is "WOW!" I made this for our Christmas Day dinner, and it knocked people out! Chocolaty and creamy, truly decadent! (I garnished with the Meringue Mushrooms from this site, also a "keeper" recipe."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLA IN BETHANY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
This is a good, solid recipe. It assembled just as described - no problems. The cake is excellent and the icing received good to rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
i used peanut butter chips meltedin place of the semisweet chocolate in the frosting/filling and boy was it good and the log looked more like wood too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinggirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I made this for a work party...everyone thought I got it at a bakery. Tasted great, looked great, and was surprisingly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Goes Veg.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Easton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brighton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States