Chocolate Decadence Yule Log Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
First time making a yule log and it's perfect. Only change to recipe was using unsweetened chocolate for the icing as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
this is great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
"Chocolate Decadence" doesn't belong in the title. The cake part was not chocolately at all (barely light brown). Otherwise the consistency/texture of the cake was good and the instructions were helpful in making a successful jelly roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Dry cake. Icing didn't work either. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I considered 3 different yule log recipes before making this. I selected this based on it using all purpose flour instead of cake flour and the fact that the filling and icing were the same and that the entire recipe was chocolate. I do not like changing a recipe the first time through however, I did substitute 1 T of Grand Marnier for the 1 T of coffee flavored liqueur in the filling. The end result was excellent both in presentation and in taste. I think this could be a repeat dessert in the future. I wasted no time in rolling my cake in a non-terry towel, but I did have some sticking to both the parchment and also the towel after the cake cooled. I would have liked a little more detail in decorating the side branch--my cake did not seem long enough to cut a piece for the side branch. I would say this is an intermediate recipe that looks like expert level. I particularly liked the taste of the filling--the cream cheese is unidentifiable and just has a nice light chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Simple to make. Tastes delicious. Just be sure to sift confectioners sugar (an oversight on my part) or you get little white spots in the frosting. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
WONDERFUL recipe! It worked PERFECTLY, and it was the first time I had ever tried a jellyroll-type dessert. Just make sure you follow the directions specifically and you'll be a happy camper. (Best chocolate frosting I've made in years, too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
omg the BEST and super easy cakeish logish thing... or whatever, between this and some truffles, we have plenty of choclate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by little ed

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I made this on a whim for Christmas Eve dessert. I didn't add the mocha flavoring in either the cake or filling/icing just because I didn't want a coffee flavor to it. It was simple & quick to bake and rolled together nicely. It was a very rich dessert and almost too rich to truly enjoy. I'm a sweet lover and even I had trouble trying to finish my 3/4" slice. Not that it wasn't delicious, just incredibly rich & sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt tilly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Fantastic Recipe. I have been making sponge roll cakes for years, this one turned out extremely well. My family doesn't care for coffee flavourings therefore I substituted liquer for some cabernet-franc icewine I had on hand... a wonderful flavour, reminiscent of black forest cake... I will definitely make this again, and won't wait for next Christmas !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States