Chocolate Decadence Yule Log Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Perfect ratios and the directions are great. I have made other yule logs in the past, but this is the recipe I will use from now on. I made 2 smaller "logs" so the cooking time was shorter, but if you follow the directions, it will roll perfectly. Also because I did the two smaller logs I had to make more frosting...not that I minded licking the beaters :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I agree with CanniliEater's viewpoint - keep the cream cheese for bagels and cheesecake. There seems to be a real cream cheese rage. It turns up as an ingredient in many recipes. My birthday is at Christmas and my traditional birthday cake was a buche de noel, either store bought or lovingly made by my aunt, an excellent baker and cake decorator. She used a good butter cream icing and embellished the finale presentation with either German marzipan mushrooms from the German deli or with a sprig of ceramic mushrooms saved from year to year. You can tell I'm really nostalgic about buche de noel! Today my birthday cake of choice is an almond cake filled with almonds and marizpan - bought at the Dutch food specialty store. I'm about to try your recipe with a few adjustments. Thanks for the recipe and the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Very good! Looked sooo pretty. I used brewed coffee instead of coffee liqueur, and it still had a lovely flavor. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Moyle Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
All I can say is "WOW!" I made this for our Christmas Day dinner, and it knocked people out! Chocolaty and creamy, truly decadent! (I garnished with the Meringue Mushrooms from this site, also a "keeper" recipe."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLA IN BETHANY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This recipe was excellent. A couple of additions I made, first, I added chocolate sauce on top of the cake prior to rolling and second instead of using the frosting inside of the cake, I put whipped heavy cream on top of the chocolate sauce and then rolled it and placed the frosting on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marcellus, New York, USA
Living In: Harrison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I can only rate and comment on the cake part because I used a whipped cream filling and a stovetop chocolate frosting recipe (from Allrecipes). The cake tastes great, but compared to other roll cake recipes I've made this was harder to work with. A little extra care and lots of frosting hides most defects.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
excellent! I've been playing with different fillings but it tastes great and lookd good. I found (by accident) thatyou can get a more realistic bark look if you do the final frosting touches with your fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Simple, savory and sweet! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Crabtree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wynne, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This was exactly what I've been looking for for years. We traditionnally have a buche (or yule log) for Christmas, and I've tried many recipes before I reached what I was expecting with this one. It is so easy too. It took me less than one hour to have this one ready on my serving plate (if not for refrigeration time, of course). I used Bailey's as coffee liqueur, and its taste came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Decadence

Relive the 80's with Chef John's "flourless" chocolate cake recipe.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States