Chocolate Decadence Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
Our church has a Seder each year and I took this as my dessert this year. It got rave reviews from the crowd, though it was mostly because it was like a pan of chocolate goo. I left it in as per the directions, and even cooked it in a slightly larger, square pan - and it still didn't completely set as a cake. I'm not sure if that's because I didn't beat the eggs long enough or if I needed to cook it longer, or if it's just supposed to be that consistency. It was kind of like the middle of a really fudgy, undercooked brownie - but the top had a crunch layer. Personally - I thought it was AWESOME, as I love undercooked brownies, cookies and raw doughs and batters. But if I were making it for a crowd again, I would cook a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I made this recipe using a combiation of 75% and 65 % chocolate. IT WAS A CHOCOHOLICS best for a cake. I made it again using a muffin pan for indiviual servings. For this recipe, cut the baking time by 10 minutes. A keeper for sure. Ken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
This was the yummiest no flour chocolate cake. My family raved about it when I made it for "my" birthday. This was exactly the cake I was looking for and was better then the slice of cake I can buy at my favorite bakery/deli. Be sure to have lots of friends over because it is rich and serves a bunch. You don't want leftovers because you will end up eating them all YOURSELF!! Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
Very rich. I suggest you slice very thin!! Wonderful, almost "fudge-like".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
rich, rich, rich & good, good, good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
This is a specialty I am now known for. So easy! SOOO good! UPDATE: I see a lot of people complaining about the egg not being thick. My eggs never get thick and it's OK! Some people separate and whip up the eggs; I find that that gives air to the cake that makes it less like decadence and more like a mousse. Decadence is a dense, rich concoction. You want to whip the eggs to make sure they are uniform (without distinguishable whites or yolks), and you want to fold them in so as to not incorporate more air than absolutely necessary. Also, for those of you who find there's too much -- you're probably using a 9" pan; this recipe calls for a 10" pan. In a 10" pan the batter never even reaches half way up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNERIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
Rich and decident for sure! Another chocolate lover's recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2001
What a recipe! We loved it at our house, but it is a little difficult to make. It lasts a long time, because it has to be sliced in small wedges, it is just too much to eat a lot of all at one time. Wonderful flavor, but very very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
Absolutely Fabulous!!! My dinner guests thought they were at the Ritz. This is a chocolate lovers indulgence. Serves 16 easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
This cake is excellent! It is dark, very rich, and undoubtedly decadent. I made no changes to the recipe and would definitely make it again as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States