Chocolate Decadence Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I know what you mean about the eggs. I tried this for the first time yesterday for my husband's hoiday party at work. The key to the eggs and getting them thick is to seperate the eggs. Beat the egg yolks and half of the sugar (meant for the eggs) and they get thick and creamy. Then do the same with the egg whites and the rest of the sugar. When you add the sugar for both, do it very slowly as you are whipping. Once the yolks are thick and creamy and the whites are at soft peaks, combine both of them and then add to the chocolate mixture. Also, the longer it cooks the better. I hope this helps. I also served it with fresh whipped cream just do break the richness. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
This is a specialty I am now known for. So easy! SOOO good! UPDATE: I see a lot of people complaining about the egg not being thick. My eggs never get thick and it's OK! Some people separate and whip up the eggs; I find that that gives air to the cake that makes it less like decadence and more like a mousse. Decadence is a dense, rich concoction. You want to whip the eggs to make sure they are uniform (without distinguishable whites or yolks), and you want to fold them in so as to not incorporate more air than absolutely necessary. Also, for those of you who find there's too much -- you're probably using a 9" pan; this recipe calls for a 10" pan. In a 10" pan the batter never even reaches half way up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNERIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I've made several versions of this over the years. This is the best one. They all will be gooey and dense without the flour - however this one has that touch of texture similar to a brownie on top not quite crunchy - but a perfect combination with the softer center. I very much prefer to use all bittersweet chocolate - which translates to roughly 1 1/2 bags of the Gharadelli. Great quality chocolate for what's available at most grocery stores and it elevates it truly to restaurant quality dessert. I make either a blackberry or marionberry sauce to pool on the plate. Top with a thin sliver of the cake that is slightly warmed and a dollop of sweetened real whipped cream. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I made this once before and I'm having the same trouble. I'm not sure how long to whip the eggs and my batter doesn't fit in my pan. I also can not tell when it is done. Help it's delicious, but I don't know if I'm making it correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This cake ranks as one of the top 2 or 3 desserts I've ever had. It's that good. Super-rich, without being leaden, it has a nice slightly crunchy layer on top with a moist and chewy melt-in-your-mouth center. Use good chocolate and it will be even better. I followed the advice of someone who suggested separating the eggs and beating 1/2 of the egg sugar into the whites and yolks before combining them. I think that really helps the texture. The batter more than filled the 9.5" pie pan I had, so I put the rest in 3" ramekins for individual servings. I baked it all in a water bath at 350. The ramekins were done in about 40 min, the big cake took another 10 min. I baked until there was just a little sticking to a toothpick. Serve with fresh whipped cream (that ingredient does not get added to the batter...), and maybe a drizzle of homemade chocolate and/or raspberry sauce. Absolutely, ridiculously good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I made this recipe using a combiation of 75% and 65 % chocolate. IT WAS A CHOCOHOLICS best for a cake. I made it again using a muffin pan for indiviual servings. For this recipe, cut the baking time by 10 minutes. A keeper for sure. Ken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
Delicious! I took this to a large social event and ended up with none left. I didn't follow the directiosn fo cooking exactly and I don't knwo how much it mattered. I just ended up making the batter and cooking it for 45 minutes like you would a cake. I also whipped the eggs with an electric beater and I never refrigerated the baked product. I meant to originally but when I was making it, I was in a hurry and i forgot to reread the recipe. However, it was amazingly rich and fabulous tasting. I love the fact that it was actually fairly healthy. Eggs, butter, and dark chocolate, great examples of good fats, protein, and antioxidants. Definitely making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by balletalyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
Our church has a Seder each year and I took this as my dessert this year. It got rave reviews from the crowd, though it was mostly because it was like a pan of chocolate goo. I left it in as per the directions, and even cooked it in a slightly larger, square pan - and it still didn't completely set as a cake. I'm not sure if that's because I didn't beat the eggs long enough or if I needed to cook it longer, or if it's just supposed to be that consistency. It was kind of like the middle of a really fudgy, undercooked brownie - but the top had a crunch layer. Personally - I thought it was AWESOME, as I love undercooked brownies, cookies and raw doughs and batters. But if I were making it for a crowd again, I would cook a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Did anyone else add the cream to the batter? ARG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Sutterpants

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
This was the yummiest no flour chocolate cake. My family raved about it when I made it for "my" birthday. This was exactly the cake I was looking for and was better then the slice of cake I can buy at my favorite bakery/deli. Be sure to have lots of friends over because it is rich and serves a bunch. You don't want leftovers because you will end up eating them all YOURSELF!! Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States